We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Comfort Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 43rd St NW, Owatonna, MN 55060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Owatonna
Madison,Wi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel is nice. From other reviews here, I guess they did renovations. Overall it looks good. The room was clean. The front desk staff was polite. Overall it was pretty quiet. The only real complaint I had was the breakfast. The advertise a hot breakfast. It started at 6, by 7 the were out of everything "hot" and had to prepare more. We had to be somewhere, so ended up not being able to eat anything but a cinnamon roll. The breakfast room is very small and cramped. There are several lunch and dinner choices at this exit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAIHospitality, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about Comfort Inn Owatonna.

Also, thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent visit to our hotel.

Your kind words for the front desk staff and housekeeping are truly appreciated. Given the nature of the hotel business, the hours can be long and demanding. Good service depends upon our staff giving their very best at all times, that's why it is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts.

Your comments regarding our breakfast are valued feedback, and I will make sure that we make improvements in this area.

Sincerely,
Vicki Lysne
Comfort Inn
Owatonna MN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
11
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Garner, IA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We met some relatives here for the weekend. I was a little skeptical after reading about all of the remodeling, but found no problems. The stairwell carpet was torn out, but in order to make things better I guess it has to be replaced some time! The beds were very comfortable and had lots of pillows. Room was clean and the breakfast had a large selection. It is within walking distance to Cabela's as well as Famous Dave's and a couple of other restaurant selections.

Room Tip: We had a room on the end, away from the elevators. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAIHospitality, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. On behalf of our hotel owner and staff, we are delighted to receive your kind words of praise.

We accomodate many guests, and strive to make each stay a satisfying one. It is through the eyes of our guests that we can accurately assess the quality of our accomodations and service.
Our new renovations and redesign are part of our commitment to continue to provide our guests with the quality they should expect.

Again, we appreciate the kind words. We are committed to toal guest satisfation, and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Vicki Lysne
Comfort Inn
Owatonna MN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

we had just stayed 2 days in feb for a hockey tournament was not impressed at all. One of our parents pulled out the hideaway bed for their child the sheets were dirty, between the second and third floor was vomit when we checked in on friday and was still there sunday when we checked out. Our 6yr old child found a porno box from a dvd in the drawer that was very graffic i brought it to the front desk and was told it would be handled but never recieved an apology. There is only one ice machine that is located on the 1st floor to supply the whole hotel needless to say we went the whole weekend without ice had to purchase it elsewhere cause it could not keep up. If you do decide to stay i hope for your sake manager Joel is not working the guy is unprofessional and very rude.

Room Tip: find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAIHospitality, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Comfort Inn Owatonna MN. At Comfort Inn we accommodate many guests each evening and strive to make their stay a satisfying one. Therefore, I am very concerned to hear of the problems you experienced during your recent visit.

First, I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken very seriously. Your willingness to share that experience is truly appreciated. Please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience these issues have caused.

It seems that our housekeeping did not provide the quality of service that is to be expected. Therefore, I have addressed the above mentioned issues with our staff involved in housekeeping and room inspections to help them improve their process.

We are still in the process of a renovation and redesign here at Comfort Inn, and it is our goal to accomplish this with the least inconvenience to you, our valued guest. We are aware there was a paint spill and overspray from the remodel. While the paint spill between 2nd and 3rd floor is permanent, our new carpet is here and will be completed soon.

Your patronage is very important to us and we hope you will allow us the opportunity to demonstate that we can not only meet but exceed your expectations on a future visit to our area.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. If there is anything I may do to assist you please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Vicki Lysne
Comfort Inn
Owatonna MN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is updating the rooms. Our room obviously had not been updated yet...wallpaper in bath was coming off and there was a hole in the wall. The room was clean and we had a good nights sleep. However, the room did need updating. The desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Our breakfast was GREAT! Great location...easy off and on, restaurants, and Cabelas next door.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VAN HORNE
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We arrived at this hotel early evening without reservations. The front desk clerk was friendly and pleasant. The room was spacious and clean, and the bed was comfortable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Our room had new carpet and the bathroom had been redone, but the bedding was not updated yet. This is an average hotel, may be worth the price paid once the reno is finished, but we thought it was a little high.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tower City, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

I had an appointment in Rochester, we decided to go to Owatonna to stay. I have always had good rooms at any Comfort Inn I have stayed at. Well, since my leg is in a cast, i requestied a handicapped room, basically for the shower, well we got into the room, and I will admit, I am a little anal when it comes to spending $100 on a room, and the cleanliness, and just the all around appearence of the room. Well, got into the room, pulled back the bed (always do that) and there were black hairs all over the bed gross!!!! And the place was to be non smoking, the room smelled like stale smoke. The bathroom was disgusting as well. The way the room was, I was thinking I was at a Motel 6 rather than a Comfort Inn. I did complain and asked they not charge me for the room because we were immediately checking out. She did try to get us to stay, by changing the sheets and spraying the room, but nope not impessed. Stay at the Holiday Inn right behind the Comfort Inn, so much more worth the few extra dollars you will pay..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 2345 43rd St NW, Owatonna, MN 55060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Owatonna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Owatonna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge style architecture welcomes you; modern guest rooms; renovated in 2012. located next door to Cabela's, 2 mi. south of Medford Outlet Center. Restaurants within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Owatonna
Comfort Inn Owatonna
Owatonna Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.