We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would come back when update is complete” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Comfort Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 43rd St NW, Owatonna, MN 55060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Owatonna
Battle Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“We would come back when update is complete”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is updating the rooms. Our room obviously had not been updated yet...wallpaper in bath was coming off and there was a hole in the wall. The room was clean and we had a good nights sleep. However, the room did need updating. The desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Our breakfast was GREAT! Great location...easy off and on, restaurants, and Cabelas next door.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
11
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
VAN HORNE
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We arrived at this hotel early evening without reservations. The front desk clerk was friendly and pleasant. The room was spacious and clean, and the bed was comfortable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Our room had new carpet and the bathroom had been redone, but the bedding was not updated yet. This is an average hotel, may be worth the price paid once the reno is finished, but we thought it was a little high.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tower City, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

I had an appointment in Rochester, we decided to go to Owatonna to stay. I have always had good rooms at any Comfort Inn I have stayed at. Well, since my leg is in a cast, i requestied a handicapped room, basically for the shower, well we got into the room, and I will admit, I am a little anal when it comes to spending $100 on a room, and the cleanliness, and just the all around appearence of the room. Well, got into the room, pulled back the bed (always do that) and there were black hairs all over the bed gross!!!! And the place was to be non smoking, the room smelled like stale smoke. The bathroom was disgusting as well. The way the room was, I was thinking I was at a Motel 6 rather than a Comfort Inn. I did complain and asked they not charge me for the room because we were immediately checking out. She did try to get us to stay, by changing the sheets and spraying the room, but nope not impessed. Stay at the Holiday Inn right behind the Comfort Inn, so much more worth the few extra dollars you will pay..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHague
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Very convenient location just of the interstate, next door to a huge outdoor/camping store (take a peek inside at the outrageously tacky stuffed animal exhibit, hang around outside to buy a raffle ticket ... first prize = a hunting rifle), and also a couple of minutes walk across parking lots to a Wendy's and a diner.

The reception area is kitted out as a fake hunting lodge, complete with stuffed animals, plenty of logs and wooden beams on show. Quite kitsch, but it works.

Staff were very friendly, the free breakfast adequate, rooms clean + quiet. Everything worked, well done Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

A better than average Comfort Inn; a bit pricier than average as well. And, Cabela's is right across the parking lot; several good dining options are nearby.

This place is right off the interstate, rooms are clean, breakfast is decent, and the place is relatively new. I've stayed here twice on the way to the Boundary Waters, and will return again if it fits my itinerary.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, mn
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

We met family members for a weekend of shopping in the area and relaxing at the Comfort Inn. We had a king suite, which was very big and had very tall ceilings. It's a great sized room to hang out in. Our family members had double Queen rooms, which were nice-sized, as well. All of rooms had a mini refrigerator and microwave, which was very nice. The rooms were clean and cozy. The wallpaper in all of the rooms could stand to be replaced, as patches were obvious, but it didn't make the room any less comfortable.

The pool area was nice and the free breakfast was wonderful. The front desk staff was superb--very friendly and organized. I appreciated that our requested crib was already in our room upon arrival.

My only complaint is that the people above us were very noisy into the early morning hours. I would request a room on the third floor next time.

This hotel is in a great location if you're in the area for shopping and we think it's a better place to stay than the overpriced waterpark hotel next door. If we're in the area, we'll come back again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 2345 43rd St NW, Owatonna, MN 55060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Owatonna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Owatonna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge style architecture welcomes you; modern guest rooms; renovated in 2012. located next door to Cabela's, 2 mi. south of Medford Outlet Center. Restaurants within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Owatonna
Comfort Inn Owatonna
Owatonna Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.