We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
4355 W frontage RD, Owatonna, MN
(507) 455-2900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 60 Restaurants in Owatonna
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Owatonna, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yummy BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My family always enjoys Famous Daves when they come to visit. Not many changes to the menu, but you can always count on the ManHandler sandwich per my brother. Sis loves the corn muffins and hubby likes the ribs.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    20
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Corn muffins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you like bbq this is a dependable place. The corn muffins are really good and the atmosphere is bbq which if that is what you are looking for -- this will make you happy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A chain restaurant--but a GOOD one!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Good smoked and sauced meats in a chain restaurant atmosphere. Prices are reasonable, and the portions are big. It has a bar.

What more would a BBQ-lover want?

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great Food - Gluten Free Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place has great BBQ. Many choices on the menu. My wife has celiac disease (no gluten) and finding a restaurant that understands this can be difficult. We were happy to find out that Famous Dave's does have a gluten free menu. There a not a lot of choices on that menu but at least we can eat here as a family if we choose. We did ask for the allergen sheet (most restaurants have one). With this, we were able to find several more food choices that did not contain wheat. The service was good. Overall, a great place to eat and for those of you who are gluten free, you should be able to find something you like.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good chain BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good service , little spendy . bathrooms were clean staff was pleasent , will visit again , nice to have cabelas close by

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.