We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corn muffins” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
4355 W frontage RD, Owatonna, MN
(507) 455-2900
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #13 of 60 restaurants in Owatonna
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Corn muffins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you like bbq this is a dependable place. The corn muffins are really good and the atmosphere is bbq which if that is what you are looking for -- this will make you happy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    6
    15
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarks Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A chain restaurant--but a GOOD one!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Good smoked and sauced meats in a chain restaurant atmosphere. Prices are reasonable, and the portions are big. It has a bar.

What more would a BBQ-lover want?

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Food - Gluten Free Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place has great BBQ. Many choices on the menu. My wife has celiac disease (no gluten) and finding a restaurant that understands this can be difficult. We were happy to find out that Famous Dave's does have a gluten free menu. There a not a lot of choices on that menu but at least we can eat here as a family if we choose. We did ask for the allergen sheet (most restaurants have one). With this, we were able to find several more food choices that did not contain wheat. The service was good. Overall, a great place to eat and for those of you who are gluten free, you should be able to find something you like.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good chain BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good service , little spendy . bathrooms were clean staff was pleasent , will visit again , nice to have cabelas close by

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“I love BBQ and this is a great place to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is one of my favorite bbq places and when going by Owatonna this is a great place to stop for food south of the twin cities. They have an old timey motif going as they are in the same area as Cabelas. Do a taste test of all their sauces such as Texas Pit, Devil's spit, Rich and Sassy, Sweet and Zesty and Georgia Mustard.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.