We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good chain BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
4355 W frontage RD, Owatonna, MN
(507) 455-2900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 60 Restaurants in Owatonna
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good chain BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good service , little spendy . bathrooms were clean staff was pleasent , will visit again , nice to have cabelas close by

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
404 reviews 404 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“I love BBQ and this is a great place to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is one of my favorite bbq places and when going by Owatonna this is a great place to stop for food south of the twin cities. They have an old timey motif going as they are in the same area as Cabelas. Do a taste test of all their sauces such as Texas Pit, Devil's spit, Rich and Sassy, Sweet and Zesty and Georgia Mustard.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Seriously? How are they still in business?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Entered, requested take out, we're kindly escorted to take-out area, asked a bunch of questions, tried to determine portions and pricing, ordered and waited. And, waited. Now this was at 8:30pm on a Sunday night. I wondered how their sizing compared to standard measures. For example, a "quart" priced bowl is served in a pint container. A "pint" priced bowl in a half pint container. A purchased 1/2 pound of pork wasn't even 8oz WITH a big spoonful of sauce (no thanks!!!) on it! I happen to eat a weighed and measured, no sugar food plan... So I used my scale. Asked for salt and pepper packets and got literally a quarter cup of each! Felt like a middle schooler was pulling a prank on us. Over cooked, under measured, expensive, steamed to mushy, and thus the last time I hit that chain. Wish I verified here if it was good. Kind people packed the bag...

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good value but slow sevice on weekends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Great Barbecue and location......;.................................................

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

I had the brisket burger, very good. Since normally this is not seen on bbg menus, I recommend it!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.