We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atomsphere and good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timber Lodge Steakhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Timber Lodge Steakhouse
4455 West Frontage Road, Owatonna, MN 55060
507 444 0303
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 60 restaurants in Owatonna
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Nice atomsphere and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is another one of the good places to eat in Owatonna. The steaks are good and so is the fish. Desserts are tasty too. The prices are a bit on the high side, if you're budgeting. Overall, a nice place to eat lunch or dinner. The atomsphere is casual and service can be iffy.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    8
    9
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

While traveling we stopped here for lunch. Our hotel was a hop, skip and a jump away and thought we'd give it a try. We ordered the walleye and Lindenburg patty...and both were delish! We started with the potato canoes, which were a healthy portion and followed with our main meals which came with two choices...very fresh and satisfying...would visit again...

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful food and poor service - too bad.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Was in town for business, so we decided to eat here for dinner tonight. We were sat in a booth in the bar area, so of course, we got very limited service from our server. Side salad was made up mostly of hard pieces of iceberg lettuce. I order an $18 Red Pepper Atlantic Salmon dinner. While it was a pretty large piece of salmon, it was the worst salmon I have ever had. It tasted like frozen salmon (somewhat dry in the middle), and had some red sauce poured over some of the top of it.

I don't typically complain, but because I expected my $18 salmon to be some of the best salmon I had ever had, I did. The manager did apologize and comp my meal; however, I will not be returning to any Timber Lodge Steakhouse.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good homestyle cooking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Pleasant atmosphere, wait staff nice. Meals are ok. Good taste to meals but nothing special or a big wow. Consistent in everything when we do go

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

If you are familiar with Timber Lodge, this will neither exceed your expectations nor let you down. We go here often, the food is wonderful and the prices are reasonable.

Some days we've had the best service, other days we've had the worst service. I enjoy the decor that is typical to most Timber Lodges, and I very much like the high backing of the booths. It really creates a little more privacy.

Their desserts look amazing but I'm always too full by then. I get a 6 oz. sirloin, cheesy hashbrowns, and a caesar salad, and have never once had a complaint about them. The Prairie Chicken and Blooming Onion are pretty tasty as well.

All in all, it's a typical chain restaurant of that type, and I have nothing negative to say about it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timber Lodge Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Timber Lodge Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timber Lodge Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.