We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad night of sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Great Serengeti at Holiday Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Great Serengeti at Holiday Inn
, Owatonna, MN
507-446-8900
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 15 things to do in Owatonna
Attraction details
Iowa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bad night of sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The water park was ok. Not real big, but done ok. There are two slides and a few other things for young kids to do. Kids over 9 or 10 will get bored pretty quick. The rooms were nice and clean. But when we tried to sleep we found out that there was light over the window on the outside and the curtains don't close all the way. On the "bright" side you will not need a night light to go to the bathroom. It might have just been our room, but I would recommend staying away from room 214.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun activity for kids.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great place to meet my little grandchildren during the winter. The lazy river is perfect for Gran and a toddler(like bath water). You can order pizza from the pool area to be brought over from the restaurant. One water slide for double tubes, the other just individual. The swimming /wading area happened to be too cold for us last time I was there. Also, It would be ideal if they made the pool available during the morning, during the week. That would be a great time for little ones that arent in school yet. You do not have to be a guest at Holiday Inn to use the pool. $12. Under 2 free.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a kid pooped in the pool.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

the stay at the hoilday inn serengeti was dissapointing. we arrived to the hotel and there was full line the staff took forever to get a room. the water park did not looked in great sape. the waterslids had strachs and craks. plus a kid pooped in the pool. a couple kids in the pool notched so we had to get out of the pool. then i went to my room and took good shower. but before i found hair so i cleaned it off :(. so i went back to my house and we never returned.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Water Park”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Water park is getting crudy , the floors are slimey my kid fell smacked his head pretty good , bathrooms were gross , Im mean GROSS!!! crap all over . Im a gold member for Holiday Inn , the desk said my company was not on there there list for a discount , she wouldnt even look . The breakfest was terrible , expensive. For 300.00 for one night it should be no more than a regular hotel , way to expensive for what it is. I do not plan on ever going back to this water park . If you want to even call it a water park .

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“waterpark was fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We really like going to the waterpark for a quick getaway close to home. We were disappointed that the basketball hoops were in repair while we were there but when they get fixed the boys will be happy again!!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Serengeti at Holiday Inn also viewed

 

Been to Great Serengeti at Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Serengeti at Holiday Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.