We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty run down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oakdale Motel

Oakdale Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oakdale Motel to your Saves list
Oakdale Motel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1418 S. Oak Ave., Owatonna, MN 55060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Owatonna
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty run down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

FIrst of all, there website says they are AAA approved but the sign in front of the motel has it blanked out. When we first arrived the person checking us in wanted my credit card so they could charge us for the room, even though I pre-paid the room. They were insistent on this but I refused to give them a card. The overall appearance of the motel indicated that it was in need of some basic maintenance. When entering the room it had a musty smell to it. The walls were dirty and in need of cleaning and a paint job. The floorboard heater in the bathroom next to the toilet looked as is it had seen only occasional cleaning and part of it was pulled away from the wall. The bed was comfortable but the state of the room had us concerned about cleanliness.

Room Tip: Find another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
2
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This motel was fantastic! The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The staff was incredibly helpful and could not have been nicer. Not to mention that it is a great value for your money. If you need a place to stay in the Owatonna area, STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This motel is a jewel. The owners really take pride in their property and treat their customers like family. The rooms are clean. The rooms offers ac that works. Fridge microwave large screen tv and a very comfortable bed that smells fresh. The shower has great water pressure. I feel like l am at home. One of the hotels I get a good nights rest. They also provide continental breakfast, laundry, and use of a computer. There restaurants, grocery, and atm within walking distance. I would stay again and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtland,Mn
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

In Owatonna,MN is another GREAT place for one's money. Clean comfortable rooms with a very helpful and friendly staff.I always feel right at home there and for those who need groceries there is a Hy-Vee within walking distance as well as various pizza places... Oh yeah..A SNAP Fitness gym also.. :)

Room Tip: Call ahead if possible as there is a bus stop close by.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

When ever I'm traveling through Owatonna,Mn I head straight for the Oakdale Motel.I've stayed here many times over the years always to find my room in top condition & great service.The owners are the best ever they care about their guests making sure your stay is always comfortable & they never forget you & welcome your return.Thank you so much. I say to travelers need a great nights rest make it the Oakdale Motel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owatonna
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna
1.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Owatonna
1.8 mi away
Budget Host Inn Owatonna
Budget Host Inn Owatonna
#8 of 10 in Owatonna
3.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 10 in Owatonna
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakdale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakdale Motel

Address: 1418 S. Oak Ave., Owatonna, MN 55060
Location: United States > Minnesota > Owatonna
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Owatonna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oakdale Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Oakdale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakdale Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.