We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall clean, comfortable and reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Hotel & Suites Owatonna

Save Saved
You added AmericInn Hotel & Suites Owatonna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Owatonna
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   245 Florence Avenue, Owatonna, MN 55060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Owatonna
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Overall clean, comfortable and reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a sports team in town for a tournament. Every employee we encountered was very pleasant and friendly.
Overall the room was clean and had a microwave, fridge, coffee maker, desk, flat screen tv and large closet for hanging clothes/jackets.
It appears the hotel is undergoing renovations but I don't think they've gotten to the end of the south wing yet. The toilet/shower area is 'tired'. Towels are very plush and soft. Mattress was probably the most firm we've ever encountered in a hotel. Good pillows. It really would have been nice to have sheer drapes for the windows in our first floor room. It looked out to the parking lot and having only dark drapes kept us feeling cooped up.
Complimentary breakfast is the usual hotel fair (cereal, waffle maker, donuts, yogurt, biscuits and gravy, fruit, eggs, sausages, coffee and juice). Good for filling up hungry tummies but nothing of quality to get excited about.
Our one huge concern was the 'south' exit door. There was no problem swiping our key to get in but trying to get out was another story. It's a two-handed process: one to pull the horizontal handle towards you, the other to push the square lock release handle. Even then it generally took a couple tries to get out. In an emergency this would be a scary issue!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    29
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
48
27
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Excellent accomodations and service. Nicest hotel in Owatonna, in fact it's the nicest room in moderate price rance I've ever stayed in. Very clean and modern. Pet friendly was important to me as well. Bottom line, great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linwood, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel is a wonderful value for your dollar, close to the interstate and well set up for those of us that like to travel with our pets. The area of the hotel that is set aside for pet rooms was all for us this past Saturday! I don't think a single other person was in the wing of the hotel - so that being said, it was very quiet. The exit to the back parking lot and pet exercise area was close to the room. They even had the waste station and plastic bags available there for our dog walk. Couldn't have asked for more. The room was basic, but clean, comfortable beds, nice TV. Probably would have been a bit crowded if we had felt the need to set up our dog's crate, but that wasn't an issue on this trip. A lot of choices for our free breakfast and a nice room to eat it in. Also a nice lobby with the use of a computer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stay in a LOT of hotels. I travel for business. Lots of one night here, one night there. This hotel had thick plush towels, the bed was as comfortable as a Hilton or Sheraton or Embassy Suites, the breakfast was a 4 out of 5, clean? Spotless! Friendly people? Positively. Price? Like I said, unbeatable! I can't say enough positive about this place. You'd think it was two or three times the price! I didn't use the pool, but it looked inviting! (to many kids for my taste at the time. there was a hockey team staying there and they were roudy)

Room Tip: I stayed in the last room at the end of the hall so I'd get privacy and quiet, but it didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The hotel was very clean and well maintained and our beds were comfortable. Sue greeted us upon check in and made sure our every need was met. Even tracking down their maintenance man for a pliers to fix my son's hockey skate before his tournament.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waseca, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our weekend stay was absolutely fabulous! The weekend was for mine and my boyfriends 7 year anniversary. I made the reservation and asked if I could drop some items off to be set up before we checked in - They were more than willing to help me out and they set it up beautifully! It was beyond my expectations!!

We stayed in the Bitter Root Suite. It has a cozy fireplace and a Jacuzzi. Very open layout with lodge-like decor. It felt homey and like I said - it was just an overall fabulous stay! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Staff is great, this motel is wonderful for the price. The swimming pool area is great and we enjoy taking out grandkids for a swim when we stay. The only downfall might be the breakfast , it seems to take awhile to refill when they run out of food or drinks

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Owatonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Owatonna

Address: 245 Florence Avenue, Owatonna, MN 55060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Owatonna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Owatonna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Owatonna 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, AmericInn Hotels, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Owatonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.