We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Available power strip to make up for the lack of electric...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Owatonna

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Owatonna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Super 8 Owatonna
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1150 W Frontage Rd, I-35 & Highway 14 West, Owatonna, MN 55060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Owatonna
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    22
    9
    1
See reviews for
31
11
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This motel smelled like smoke everywhere, despite the fact that it was supposed to be non-smoking. Maybe they had a fire? Rooms are very small. This place looks very old and is in need of some deep cleaning. I would not stay here again- better rooms can be found for less.

The shower was weird- it turned very hot then very cold no matter what it was set on. Not a good shower.

Continental breakfast was OK- Eggos, toast, and cereal.

The porno store next door is a clue. There were people hanging around in the parking lot so we worried about our car, but the guys just stayed in the back of the lot and did not mess with our car.

Room Tip: Upstairs was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here last year when we visiting friends and found it to be a great place. Very clean. The owners are wonderful and they have been refurbishing the motel for the last couple of years and it really shows. The beds are great, showers fine, clean through out. We never smelled smoke.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed 4 nights. Nice room, comfy beds, AC was fantastic. Nice continental breakfast offered every day, free paper too. Staff was friendly, front desk always pleasant. Room was quiet. Will definitely stay there again. We had a first floor room, very seldom heard anything from the hall or upstairs. No traffic noise at all. Only drawback was the entry foyer to room hallway smelled like an ashtray.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just a few comments. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Our room was clean. It was marked as a no smoking room but smelled of smoking. The hallway and especially the side entrance area smelled like the inside of an ashtray. Not good Super 8. The shower was another problem. One minute scalding hot and the next ice cold. Sort of a torture chamber. This hotel need updating if it wishes to compete with newer facilities. Most showers have a temperature controlled valve. This would correct this serious problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a quick one night stay on our way to N. Minnesota. Had previously stayed at the Comfort Inn and were really happy with it but was all booked up so for the cheaper price decided to try the Super 8. Was a little concerned when we pulled up and the hotel was locaetd right next to an adult boutique shop. Hotel was completely full when we checked in but we had a reservation so it was no problem. Got a non smoking room on the second floor. Reasonably clean room but it was older and definitely smelled like smoke. Pretty much the entire hotel smelled smokey. Room was pretty quiet though overnight. Went to the breakfast the next morning, definitely one of the lower end breakfasts I've ever had. Out of most things when I went there and even what they originally offered was nothing special, some frozen eggo waffles were the highlight. Juice from the machine tasted awful. Checked out early the next morning and finished our trip. Would I stay there again? Probably if I was alone, traveling across country and just wanted a quick cheap place to stay one night. I'd also probably go to McDonalds for breakfast. Unfortunately I had my family with me (wife, 2 kids) and I would definitely not stay there again with them. It is cheap but as other reviews have said you get what you pay for. I will pay a little more next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Owatonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Owatonna

Address: 1150 W Frontage Rd, I-35 & Highway 14 West, Owatonna, MN 55060
Location: United States > Minnesota > Owatonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Owatonna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Owatonna 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Owatonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Owatonna
Owatonna Super 8
Owatonna Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Owatonna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.