We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay if you want a no-frills stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna

Save Saved
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 St John Drive, Owatonna, MN 55060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Owatonna
Twin Cities, MN, USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Okay if you want a no-frills stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just stayed here last night. I was out at an event in Mankato until late, so I knew I didn't want to drive all the way back. Chose Owatonna and this hotel because it was reasonably priced and right off 35. It is certainly micro - room was the smallest I've been in since hotels in Europe. Mostly clean, but carpet could use some work. Front desk staff was friendly and efficient when I checked in at 11:00 p.m. Decided to skip their breakfast, as it didn't look like much. I'd only stay here again if all I needed was a bed, as there really are not any amenities that are a draw.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
42
15
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel was just a bit too economy for us; would've spent more for Holiday Inn had we thought about it more. The staff was very nice and helpful, however.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just stayed one night on way home. Loved the Tempurpedic Mattresses. Slept so good after a few days on regular mattresses.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family and I reserved two adjoining rooms. We were assured and informed by Alyssa that we could check in early without any extra charges as long as we checked in "after midnight on the morning of our check in day." Upon arrival, we were told by Dolly Patel, the owner/manager, that "Alyssa was wrong to tell us that and it would cost an additional $69 per room." Dolly Patel would not take responsibility for her employee's mistake, and equally important, she never apologized.

If you should have any issues with your stay, then don't expect an apology or resolution from Dolly Patel. She just wants your money with no service in return.....We also found pubic hairs in the showers and underneath the toilet seats. (We went to Target, which is located right behind the hotel and picked up Clorox wipes to clean the bathrooms. The location is convenient as it is located on-off the exit ramp.)

We were also charged $1 per room per day for non-existent room safes (rooms 104 & 106), which the front desk reversed.

A housekeeping staff helped herself to a 12oz styrofoam cup of gravy, which was for the biscuits and gravy -leaving none for paying hotel guests as it was not replenished. This same housekeeper put 8 mini chocolate donuts in another styrofoam cup. Another hotel patron and my children had to wait for this housekeeper to finish toasting her bagel before they could get to use the toaster.

We will not return nor recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms located on the 1st/bottom floor are cooler than the 2nd and 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna

Address: 150 St John Drive, Owatonna, MN 55060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Owatonna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Owatonna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Owatonna Hotel Owatonna
Microtel Inn And Suites Owatonna
Microtel Owatonna
Owatonna Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.