We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Allan Avenue Southwest, Owatonna, MN 55060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Owatonna
Certificate of Excellence
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We actually reserved this hotel for last night thinking it was at Exit 45 by Cabellas.(my error in reading the map)...it was $30 less per night than the other hotels on that interchange and thought that was a great deal. Of course we discovered upon arrival that its at Exit 41 instead but that was okay so we stayed there anyway.....what a delightful experience. This was the quietest hotel we've been within recent memory! We were meeting good friends from Iowa there for the evening, and Lindsey at the front desk is a wonderful representative for the Country Inn and had a good time making sure our rooms were just right and that we had a good evening. This morning Lindsey was also the one fixing the breakfast and maintaining the breakfast bar. This was the freshest, most attended to hot breakfast bar also within recent memory. And once again she wanted to make sure that the four of us had a good time and everything went well. Thank you Lindsey for the extra touch for our stay!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the south side of the bldg....the north side used to be smoking rooms (which have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    30
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
16
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were on a leisurely ride through Minnesota, and elected to stay at the Country Inn & Suites in Owatonna. It was a pleasant stop. The hotel is in great shape, very close to the interstate and within walking distance to several restaurants. It's also right next door to a ten-plex movie theater - an unexpected bonus!

We were a bit surprised as we entered the room to see two queen beds that looked as if they had been trampled. It turns out the comforters on the bed were just a lumpy style, kind of encased in a cover. The beds turned out to be just fine.

The room itself was fine. Ours overlooked the theater parking lot and was very quiet. We didn't hear a peep from other guests in the hotel. The a/c unit was through-the wall with control on the unit. It was quiet and offered the option of a continuous low speed fan.

The bath was good, and included the favored hoop-style shower curtain.

Breakfast was good - it included mixed fruits, cereals, and my favorite fresh waffle maker.

The staff was outstanding in their service and friendliness! I would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are on busy streets, so no worries!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast WI
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We decided to stay here due to great past experiences with Country Inn and Suites. Just goes to show that each individual property is its own entity. The room was great, the pool was shallow, the breakfast was extremely simple and not very hot (even though we were down there right near the beginning of the service), and the front desk service was basic.

It seemed as if the front desk may have been overworked as they were a bit cranky towards any type of talking in the lobby. They continued to work, but you could see on the faces of the people, they did not like to be bothered by anyone in the lobby. It is a small lobby and can get loud with even basic conversations, but that should be a gathering area for families to be able to get out of their rooms. A little disappointing for this reason.

The location is perfect for the town as it has lots of basics around it and is convenient to the interstate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Jim M,
Thank you for your review of the Country Inn & Suites Owatonna. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the room and our location was perfect. I'm disappointed that our front desk staff was not more friendly and welcoming. For that I apologize. Customer service is extremely important to us and we will use your feedback as a training tool. Please allow us to impress you on your next visit to Owatonna.

Sincerely,
Kelly B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKOBOJI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel has AMAZING SERVICE! Deanna, Jeff, Jenny & Holly all went out of their way to help us. Deanna & Jeff show the type of kindness that should be displayed around the world. Please stay at this hotel or any Country Inn & Suites if you have the chance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Joe the front desk attendant was very friendly and helpful!! He made it very welcoming to come to this hotel and cared to all our needs. The hotel was very clean and smelled wonderful. Very nice and welcoming all around.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A family funeral brought us to the Country Inn and Suites. A family group traveling together required 4 rooms close to the interstate and this property was just right. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the hours for breakfast were convenient and the food options satisfied everyone's tastes. The quiet location was disrupted around 9am by a parking lot resurfacing project, but no one was annoyed or irritated by the work. If our travels require us to stay in this part of southern Minnesota again, we will definitely visit this property again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Festus, Missouri
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The reservation lady was very polite and courteous. The room was extremely clean and well maintained. The breakfast was also something to brag about and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It was very close to restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owatonna
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Owatonna
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 10 in Owatonna
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna
16.0 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Faribault
1.3 mi away
Oakdale Motel
Oakdale Motel
#6 of 10 in Owatonna
4.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna

Address: 130 Allan Avenue Southwest, Owatonna, MN 55060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Owatonna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Owatonna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "new" Country Inn & Suites Owatonna! We just recently completed a renovation which includes; remodeled guestrooms and lobby, expanded breakfast room, along with a new fitness center, business center and guest laundry. And, all of our rooms are now equipped with refrigerators, microwaves and flat screen TVs. We offer complimentary hot breakfast featuring fresh waffles, along with biscuits & gravy, sausage, eggs, hot and cold cereals, fruit, yogurt parfait, breads and pastries, juices, coffee, tea and milk. We also have an indoor pool and spa, free high speed wireless internet access and many restaurants are close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Carlson, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Owatonna
Owatonna Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.