We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2365 43rd Street NW, Owatonna, MN 55060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Owatonna
Northwood, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here for a second time in December 2013. This is a wonderful getaway for our family as we love to take the kids swimming at hotels every once in a while, and they loved the waterpark here. We stayed in king jacuzzi suite which has 2 conjoined rooms, one with king size bed and hot tub and the other has wet bar, table and chairs, pull out sleeper sofa. We have 4 kids and this worked well for us. The room was clean and spacious enough for all of us, however to get a rollaway cot costs an extra $20.00, not 10.00 like the website says. So we opted not to do that. Also the wet bar has quite a few cupboards but no silverware or dishes. The game room is also nice, kids really enjoyed it. The waterpark is small which we expected, but was perfect for our one night stay. Our kids enjoyed it very much, the water was warm enough for being December, and the pool was clean. We also ate at the restaurant inside the hotel which was a great deal for supper with kids eat free, our meal for the 6 of us was 40.00. However we ordered room service for breakfast which was also 40.00, I expected breakfast to be cheaper with kids meals being free. There are no menus for the restaurant in the room and we did not recieve a receipt for our meal so it was a little bit of a shock that an omelete and french toast costs 40.00. Overall, this hotel is very nice and we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daren W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Sara I, Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our hotel. We appreciate your business and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I looked into your breakfast total since I agree it seems rather high. Unfortunately, since you did room service, the kids eat free vouchers do not apply and there is a room service fee. If you would like to contact me, I would like to send you a gift certificate to use in the future to make up for the miscommunication, since the restaurant staff should have informed you of these facts. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Sincerely, Daren Wradislavsky, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    24
    16
    15
See reviews for
69
4
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Room was okay, very few plug ins. All being used for lamps etc. pool was freezing! Did not feel like water heated at all. 5 year old that loves to swim and only stayed in pool for 10 minutes. Very disappointing as we chose hotels that he enjoys being able to swim.

Room Tip: , bottom level room convenient and some noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Kelly L,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is unfortunate that you did not completely enjoy this visit due to the condition of the pool facility. Despite this, I am happy to know that you found our rooms to be sufficient for your needs.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel was very easy to find right off the interstate. Walking in you're welcomed by a large and inviting front desk area. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Our room was very roomy and well maintained. The furniture was modern and in good condition. The restaurant was waited by a really nice wait staff that made us feel very welcome. The food was average and the prices were decent. I felt that perhaps the restaurant might need a thorough cleaning but was not concerned for my food. The waterpark is a nice place for kids. Not having any kids with on the trip we only visited the hot tub area which was very nice and had plenty of room. Overall this was a nice place to stay either by yourself or with your family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daren W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your staty. I have shared your comments concerning the restaurant with the restaurant manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I've stayed at several hotels the last several months, however, my stays at hotels off of major interstates and smaller towns is limited. I have been impressed with Intercontinental Hotel Group's (IHG) revamp of the Holiday Inn franchise. This hotel mirrors what IHG strategy was all about. A well managed property with customer-oriented employees. The front desk staff made you feel welcomed and presented a clear and concise picture of the hotel and amenities. The rooms were inviting with a microwave and refrigerator in the unit. My room had updated linens and the new state of the art hotel mattress. A far cry fom the dumpy Ramada property, I had to stay in for a reunion, 3 weeks ago.The wait staff at their restaurant were professional and our bartender was very professional with noted efficiency of serving several of our group. The prices in the bar and restaurant for both refreshments and food was quite reasonable. This stay was for business. I am thinking about coming back withe the grandkids for a weekend in November to take advantage of their Serengetti pool facilities and slides. Again, a good experience, and so far, I am a believer in the new Holiday Inn image.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Fulfilled expectations for an overnight hotel stay including a fast check-in, clean rooms, good customer service, and restful sleep. We were here as part of a wedding reception and was impressed by the waitstaff. Didn't check out the restaurant or water park.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in August and Found the property overall to be in need of a deep clean. Our room was ok but felt like it really wasn't clean. For example I dropped my phone between the bed and the nightstand and found it laying on wrappers and a hair tie. None were ours. There were spots on the walls and hair on the sheets. We were exhausted and just lived with it. Like others said, at night the property isn't secure. The back door was propped open. We closed it but it didn't matter, it was unlocked. The hallways were dark and smelly. The staff at the restaurant was the only bright spot. The food was nothing special. Note to manager, give the entire property a deep cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear jezabel27,

Thank you for your feedback. Your willingness to spare some of your time to relay your comments is genuinely appreciated. We are sorry our hotel fell short of your expectations this particular day. I have taken note of your comments regarding housekeeping. Thank you for bringing these to our attention. We will address these with the proper department to improve the quality and service that we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here in July with my son and daughter. It is a pretty average holiday Inn. The water park is a good one for younger kids. The water park is relatively small -- so it works best for tweens and under. My 10 year old and 6 year old thought it was great. It is small enough, that a parent can pretty much sit back and relax and see the whole thing.

The room was clean. The hotel was well kept up.

There is no free breakfast, but my kids did eat for free -- the Sunday Am buffet was not great. We did enjoy dinner in the restaurant.

I would recommend for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna

Address: 2365 43rd Street NW, Owatonna, MN 55060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Owatonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Owatonna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna home of the Great Serengeti Indoor Water Park! Come experience the adventure! Our award winning hotel, located just 45 minutes south of Minneapolis/St. Paul and next to Cabela's, features 130 guest rooms and suites, including KidSuites! We offer amenities for business or pleasure! The Great Serengeti Indoor Water Park features the exciting Kilimanjaro Tube Slide, Python Body Slide, the relaxing Lazy Zambezi River, zero depth entry activity pool, water basketball and relaxing waterfall spa. The Lion's Den arcade features a large selection of the latest video games, as well as interactive games for adults and children of all ages. For the business traveler our guest rooms feature a spacious work desk. We offer high-speed wireless Internet and a business center. Our Meeting & Banquet facility features 5 meeting rooms with multiple room combinations for up to 400 people. Banquets and meetings at the Holiday Inn & Suites Owatonna feature personalized menu planning with a wide range of food and beverage selections available. For shopping, we're located adjacent to Cabela's - MN's 2nd largest tourist attraction, and the Medford Outlet Mall is only minutes away! Come experience the adventure at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Owatonna Hotel Owatonna
Owatonna Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.