We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2365 43rd Street NW, Owatonna, MN 55060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Owatonna
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Disappointing! Not impressed with the staff or the motel. Had to request a different room upon arrival as my requested "non-smoking" room smelled like a smokers den. There is NO continental breakfast that is complementary. I had asked on reservation if there was a continental breakfast and was told there was. Very deceptive, when in fact, there is a grill/bar ajoined with the motel and you must BUY your continental breakfast. The flyer in the room advertized juice, 1 piece of toast, an apple or banana, and coffee for $10! We passed, and ate at Cabela's breakfast buffet for $7. The bed was comfortable, but it was a horrible restless night due to the paper-thin walls, screaming kids and slamming doors at all hours of the night, and the room's extremely noisy air-conditioning fan. Seriously noisy! You can not hear someone talking to you on the other side of the room with the AC unit on, and the TV must be turned high to hear over the noise as well. Poor temperature regulation in the room...if the AC was on low, the room got hot and humid in about 15 min. Refrigerator seal was broken and did not cool properly. The ONLY reason I can think to stay here is if you have little kids who wish to use their water park--although it did not look very clean to us...otherwise keep driving to a better location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Lucky L,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. We would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    24
    16
    15
See reviews for
69
4
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip. Cabela's is located right across the parking lot and they have a restaurant in it. I was greeted promply by the receptionist. Other Holiday Inn's I have stayed in they gave you at least a bottle of water. This one did not. I got a free drink at the bar if I purchased one annd I did not wish to do that. The hotel has a restaurant in it but I did not use that either. The room was clean and the hotel was quiet during my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Pros are Convenient location, good size room two queens for two adults and 1 child. Loved the microwave, fridge, and cabinet for food in the room. Staff isn't rude but not super helpful. Cons: can hear everything outside your room like they are right next to you. Got a room on the 3rd floor, someone checked in above us today and the stomping you hear through the ceiling is ridiculous. Parents in the watermark do not always watch their kids. Waterpark is just ok, small and nothing special. Kids eat free in their restaurant for hotel guests but the service is slow. Once the food came it was pretty good. They were working hard just short staffed. It was fine for a short, inexpensive getaway but probably won't go out of our way to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear MNCrystal,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was not impressed at all with this place or its staff. We were told that there was a continental breakfast....there is not! You must purchase the breakfast yourself in their restaurant. We went to the Perkins restaurant instead on the advice of other guests at the motel. Trying to sleep in this motel with screaming kids at all hours of the night was a little tricky. They were scattered all over the 4 floors of this place instead of all being on one floor. There was no outside security here either. Oh they had cameras outside, but no live humans checking to make sure their guests weren't being robbed blind. The water park? Not on your life it appeared to be septic!!! I won't be back there again. The staff could care less, they acted as if we were inconveniencing them if we asked a question. The food in the restaurant was overpriced and not well prepared. The only thing in the whole place that was reasonable was the bar!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Gerald417,

Than you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. It is regrettable the noise from other guests and interaction with the staff prevented you from enjoying your stay at our property. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennett, Iowa, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My 4 and 9 year old really enjoyed the waterpark. The safari theme was a nice change from the modified playground equipment and the dumping barrel that we're used to at every othernwaterpark we've been to, and that's been a lot. I did see that it needed some TLC, some paint, a few totems were broken, but nothing major. The hot tub was out of service while we were there. The arcade wasn't anything special.
The room was adequate, the beds were comfortable, I was able to get a good nights sleep. The internet was fast, but not sure about 'high speed' watching hulu on a laptop was a no go. There was a real coffee maker, not the 'slip in a disposal plastic basket and a cup' type, but a glass carafe and real mugs. The shower head was a bonus, it was high enough that I didn't have to stoop to wash my hair. At just a tad over 6 foot tall you wouldn't think that was an issue nowadays, but it is. There were plenty of pillows for both beds, the sheets and towels were soft. The heating/ac unit was quiet. The carpet even passed the 'white sock' test. There were plenty of electrical outlets around the room, but all were subject to the 'only the top port works' curse. I did find that the bedside lamp and the clock where connected to the entryway light. Still don't know why you can't have a clock and a light going at the same time, but I carry a multi-plug in my luggage for my sleep machine anyway,so I was prepared. The boys got free dinner and breakfast, and I got a bogo free drink card. Given my first impression of the buckets catching dripping water from the ceiling when I came to check in I was ready to be disappointed. But I was checking on ealry and was grateful to be able to get in a room and out of the snowstorm (in April no less!) that I was willing to overlook the wet floor to just get off the roads. Turns out, the snowstorm was responsible for the leak anyway, and everything was great. Had dinner and breakfast onsite and it was great food. All in all, a great place for a family with young kids to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As a Platinum member I got upgraded to a huge corner suite. Room was ok but nothing special and this would sum up this hotel for me. Might actually be better suited to large families with young children since they have the pool and slides to keep them happy. Bar and breakfast area was adequate but staff were happy and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Hammy59,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is pleasing to know that you found our room to be sufficient for your needs and our staff was helpful. It is always nice to receive positive feedback from guests like you.

We value you as our IHG Rewards Club Platinum Member and wish the next time you visit the area, you give our hotel another try.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and stayed here one night . The rate seemed high especially when you don't receive free breakfast. For being a Gold Priority Club member, we received a buy one drink, receive one drink free. What a deal! Some Holiday Inns at least give you buy one breakfast, get one breakfast free. This being said, our room was very nice and it was recently updated. We had a very comfortable bed, a small sofa bed, a fridge and microwave and the internet worked good. One negative was that the room was very hot and we had to keep the heater on 58 degrees and it was 20 degreees outside. I would have given this property an excellent rating except for the fact the the hallways and elevator area need to vacuumed badly. They were littered with all kinds of trash. We even found coins in the hallway. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was just fine. Our food bill however, showed something extra we hadn't ordered and after bringing this to the waiter's attention, it was removed off our bill. There are other places to eat close by like Subway, Famous Dave's, Timberlodge, and Wendy's.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna

Address: 2365 43rd Street NW, Owatonna, MN 55060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Owatonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Owatonna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna home of the Great Serengeti Indoor Water Park! Come experience the adventure! Our award winning hotel, located just 45 minutes south of Minneapolis/St. Paul and next to Cabela's, features 130 guest rooms and suites, including KidSuites! We offer amenities for business or pleasure! The Great Serengeti Indoor Water Park features the exciting Kilimanjaro Tube Slide, Python Body Slide, the relaxing Lazy Zambezi River, zero depth entry activity pool, water basketball and relaxing waterfall spa. The Lion's Den arcade features a large selection of the latest video games, as well as interactive games for adults and children of all ages. For the business traveler our guest rooms feature a spacious work desk. We offer high-speed wireless Internet and a business center. Our Meeting & Banquet facility features 5 meeting rooms with multiple room combinations for up to 400 people. Banquets and meetings at the Holiday Inn & Suites Owatonna feature personalized menu planning with a wide range of food and beverage selections available. For shopping, we're located adjacent to Cabela's - MN's 2nd largest tourist attraction, and the Medford Outlet Mall is only minutes away! Come experience the adventure at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Owatonna Hotel Owatonna
Owatonna Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.