We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in the Owatonna Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2365 43rd Street NW, Owatonna, MN 55060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Owatonna
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in the Owatonna Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

After spending the previous night in a cabin with no plumbing we were excited to have a comfy bed, hot shower and the kids were excited to play in the waterpark. The room was spacious and clean. The restaurant was great. The food very tasty and the waitstaff and bartender very friendly. The kids ate free so that was definitely a bonus. The waterpark was great fun for our 9 and 5 year old. The only complaint I have was an overbearing lifeguard that couldn't seem to leave our family alone. We were following all of the rules, but the lifeguard seemed to have it in her mind that we needed to be scolded several times. The arcade is a bit small, but fun for 10-20 minutes of play. The 'cafe' in the waterpark was also closed, but didn't look like it would have had much for us if it would have been open. All in all we had a good experience with this hotel. Friendly staff at check in and check out and warm, comfortable beds in the room. If you're looking for a fun family friendly hotel in the Owatonna area, stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    42
    26
    17
    17
See reviews for
73
4
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The staff in the hotel and restuarant were just really helpful and full of energy. It made the stay very nice. I do, as another traveler indicated have an issue with the light switch that turns out all lights (very odd).

Super clean place workout room was in great shape. I very large lobby giving you the feeling of a lodge.

This place is a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We thought the water park was perfect for our 8 and 4 year old. They had a great time!
It was clean, very well watched over by the lifeguards, etc.
The hotel was clean, the staff very friendly. A couple of complaints though. The 1st floor walk to the water park was freezing, light switch in the room turned out all lights, so no reading before going to bed. You could turn off the light by the bed, but only way to have it on was by the switch by the door. So you have overhead lights on at the same time. We thought we had our phones charging all night, but I guess when we switched the light off, all outlets went off. Crazy!

We would stay here again, but just knowing the outlet situation.

Room Tip: I would not want to be on the bottom floor with the water park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mills, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Kids loved the water park. Perfect for my 8 and 4 year old. Plenty of stuff to keep them busy, no it isn't huge, but for a smaller town and for a decent price it worked for us. The staff at the water park, the hotel and the resturarunt was awesome. No complaints with them either.
We did have some issues with the noise, you can hear everything in the hallways while in your room. Also we had to have our light switch by the door on to turn all the lamps on and the electrical outlets, that seems really strange. Would also like a free breakfast too. But all in all would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I've spent 8 nights here over the last month and have been very pleased with every aspect of my stay(s). Courteous & attentive staff provide excellent service. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I've eaten a half dozen meals in the adjoining restaurant and it is the best restaurant in Owatonna. I didn't go into the waterpark but from everything I heard, it is a great place for families/children. Highly recommend this HI if you are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel could be so much better. For starters we were very disappointed in the water park.
1. The water park is very small, and not much fun for a family of three.
2. We were there well over an hour and they had ZERO towels available. It is pretty cold standing around dripping wet when they have blown the whistle for a mandatory break. We asked several employees several times about getting towels and they claimed they were all in the laundry! They refused to call the front desk and we ended up using napkins to dry off a tad. After heading to our room and changing we promptly went down to the front desk to discuss our disappointment, we were not happy to find out they refused to do anything for us. It would have been nice to at least receive a free drink ticket or breakfast voucher.
3. As far as rooms go it was just OK nothing to brag about. The sofa bed was not comfy and the queen bed was pretty hard. Plus the room had a bit of a musty odor.
4. I don't even want to get started on the horrible service we received during breakfast! I don't think our waitress Shelia should have been feeding her face at the Buffet and not getting us our beverages and then the check. We are disappointed overall in the poor customer service we received at this hotel. The book in our room stated that if we were not satisfied to bring it to their attention and they would make it right, well we brought things to their attention and we didn't even receive an I am sorry. I have to say I don't plan on returning anytime soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hotel looked new, rooms were clean and had all needed amenities. Family had a great time at the waterpark, and the staff were great. The location of this hotel is perfect. Restaurant was good. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna

Address: 2365 43rd Street NW, Owatonna, MN 55060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Owatonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Owatonna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna home of the Great Serengeti Indoor Water Park! Come experience the adventure! Our award winning hotel, located just 45 minutes south of Minneapolis/St. Paul and next to Cabela's, features 130 guest rooms and suites, including KidSuites! We offer amenities for business or pleasure! The Great Serengeti Indoor Water Park features the exciting Kilimanjaro Tube Slide, Python Body Slide, the relaxing Lazy Zambezi River, zero depth entry activity pool, water basketball and relaxing waterfall spa. The Lion's Den arcade features a large selection of the latest video games, as well as interactive games for adults and children of all ages. For the business traveler our guest rooms feature a spacious work desk. We offer high-speed wireless Internet and a business center. Our Meeting & Banquet facility features 5 meeting rooms with multiple room combinations for up to 400 people. Banquets and meetings at the Holiday Inn & Suites Owatonna feature personalized menu planning with a wide range of food and beverage selections available. For shopping, we're located adjacent to Cabela's - MN's 2nd largest tourist attraction, and the Medford Outlet Mall is only minutes away! Come experience the adventure at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Owatonna Hotel Owatonna
Owatonna Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.