We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little state park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rice Lake State Park

Rice Lake State Park
Owatonna, MN
507-455-5871
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 21 things to do in Owatonna
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A blend of marsh, lake, meadows and woods and an ideal place for birdwatching.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice little state park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Rice Lake Park is an easy 15 minute drive from Owatonna and a great place for a relaxing walk in the woods. There's no special natural features, but it's a well kept place with a variety of trails and lake views.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kasson, Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This park isn't a challenging hike, but a fun place to picnic and watch the water. There is a hiking trail, VERY EASY, but kept my boys entertained and there was no complaining. We enjoyed our picnic lunch by the water.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Nice state park on the outskirts of Owatonna, MN. The park is tucked around farm land which is evident when hiking the unmarked trails. I do not get why some of the parks lack signs marking trails. The lake does not allow gas boats, but you can load a canoe or trolling powered boat. Has few amenities, but is a nice park to visit. Plan on camping, hiking, and fishing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Pretty park but lousy camping! A gem in Owatonna.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a nice state park, though, far from perfect. It is only about 15 minutes from Owatonna. It is pretty and is a nice location to wander around. The camping is lousy, unless you're a local. They don't seem to mind that lack of privacy and the fact that hiking trails go through the camping sites. Some sites sit on top of each other. We camped there just once. We thought we had a spectaccular spot. That is until the next morning when people started hiking through our spot beginning at 8:00 am on a sunday morning. As it was, we had to hike through another occupied camping spot to get to the restrooms. It sits on Rice Lake where one can cayak or canoe, though I wouldn't fish there. Kayaking is nice though. There are bathrooms.
All in all a nice way to spend a day, though I wouldn't camp there again.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A nice place to walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

It's a nice place to go out for a walk in the woods. Everything in Minnesota is pretty and this is no different

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice Lake State Park also viewed

 

Been to Rice Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rice Lake State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.