We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty walking area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Kohlmier

Lake Kohlmier
Owatonna, MN
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 21 things to do in Owatonna
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Owatonna lake complete with a swimming beach.
minnesota
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pretty walking area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I take my dogs to Kohlmier to walk. It's barely used Fall, Winter, and Spring during the week. Its also connected to a bike/walking trail, including one that goes 3/4 of the way around the lake. Nice beach, but I wouldn't swim passed June. Gets a little murky.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“We love the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This year is way better than last year! Last year (2011) there were lifegaurds who wouldn't let us do anything and there was goose poop EVERYWHERE. But this year we were pleasantly surprised to find NO life guards and NO goose poop. Yay! We swam for hours each day we went. We could use our floaties and not get yelled at. We LOVE the huge swim area and the diving dock!! The diving dock is the BEST!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“This is a pond, not a lake. Disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Owatonna is the only city in Minnesota that doesn't have a lake, or so we told by our realtor, a native. This "lake" is a joke. It is more of a pond. One side is the "beach" where kids can't run around or splash or scream: things kids naturally do when having fun.
If you're looking for a lake in Minnesota to spend the day, this isn't it. Not that a sensible person would want to fish in one of Minnesota's many polluted lakes. Even natives joke about the polluted lakes, but they fish anyway. Not me. No thank you. I kayked the tiny Lake Kohlmier a few times and I had to be sure to shower each time.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna
1 review
“CLean Safe & good for any occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

this is a location for a good gatherings, clean ,very safe for kids, with boats diving boards, water supply and rest rooms, and for barbecue

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

great place to hang out on a warm summer afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Kohlmier also viewed

 

Been to Lake Kohlmier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Kohlmier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.