We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average decor, wonderful food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rockwoods Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rockwoods Grill
9100 Quaday Ave., Otsego, MN 55330
(763) 441-6322
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Otsego
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Clear Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average decor, wonderful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you're just into it for the food then you won't be dissapointed at Rockwoods. They have several different seating sections where they do try to seperate couple from families. They also have a outdoor seating section for the good weather. Drinks are good, food is wonderful, service is usually average and so is the cost.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    28
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average value, average service, but superior food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We were irritated that the sign outside had said there was Immediate Seating, and when we went in, it was a 30-minute wait. They went to change the sign, but didn't apologize.
The atmosphere is very good. They tend to separate the families from the couples, which most can appreciate with a fancy, dimmed, quiet restaurant.
We have the pleasure of eating here a couple of times a year. We always get the Pasta Santino. It is mouth-watering. The last time we went, though, the cheese on mine was all burnt around the edges. His was fine, though, and we were hurrying for a movie.
We very rarely saw our server, and ended up asking other servers to help us. My husband wanted dessert and the server (again- not our server,) told us a slice of peppermint cheesecake was $4. The dessert was mediocre at best. When we got our bill, it was $6.50.
Through the years, we have seen them go through at least 3 different kinds of appetizer-breads. The first was the best, although, the one they're serving now is okay. Better than the last we tried.
I couldn't get an alcoholic drink this time, but I also wanted to mention they have a great Sangria. I think it was White Peach I'd had, perhaps.
Overall, the service could use a little boost. And the food is very good, but the price is very high, making the value very average. You get what you pay for. Except dessert.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ashley H. made our visit most enjoyable...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We ate in the bar this last Friday evening,and even though it was extremely busy in the bar and in the Dining Room, we had a wonderful dinner. This was the third or fourth time Ashley has been our server, and she is absolutely wonderful. My baby-back ribs were wonderful, my wife's chicken marsala was good, but once again Ashley was unbelievably nice, professional, and genuine. As long as she is at Rockwoods we will keep coming back. She makes every one of our dinners an outstanding experience, making us feel very welcome, as well as well taken care of... P & J

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, service sucked!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

The service stunk, the waitress only came over three times and two of them we had to flag her down. Our glasses sat empty for quite some time before we could catch her attention. Had a Bloody Mary and watched her clean tables with a dirty rag and grab pickles, olives, etc... with her bare hands. How hard is it to poke them and put them in the glass?Customers would come up and grab pickles or olives and just put there hands right in the container like it was meant for them, gross! Someone will get sick. The food was great but the service sucked. The staff could be a little cleaner.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Patio Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The spacious outdoor patio is perfect for a warm summer night! The regular menu or the bar menu is available on the patio too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockwoods Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rockwoods Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockwoods Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.