We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stop on Way to Voyageurs NP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oveson's Pelican Lake Resort & Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oveson's Pelican Lake Resort & Inn
Save
You added Oveson's Pelican Lake Resort & Inn to your Saves list
4675 Highway 53, Orr, MN 56649   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Orr B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stop on Way to Voyageurs NP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

At suggestion of Voyagaire Houseboats we made reservation at Oveson's Pelican Lake Resort. Formerly an AmiericInn and then Gateway Lodge it has been renamed under newe ownership. Oveson's are the operators of the historic Kettle Falls Hotel. Reservation via phone was smooth but they required a 30% immediate charge on our three rooms (2 Kings and one 2-queen bed). Check-in was smooth. Room was spotless and large but funny thing was both King rooms (219 and 119) were handicap accessible. Nice for my somewhat physically disabled wife though with flip down shower bench but toilet was too tall. Basic cableTV channels (last TV for a week for us) and HBO. Facility overall is new and impressive. Checked out pool area (nice slide) but did not use. Ate at small restaurant on-site and food was very good (burgers, sandiwches, fish, chicken, etc...). Onl;y downside was it closes altogether at 10pm which means small bar also is closed then. Included breakfast was typical but did include biscuits & gravey and boiled eggs. We ate outside on patio overlooking lake & dock and noticed fire pit and other amenities out there. Checkout was a breeze since we had settled up the night before. Staff was super friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Side away from parking lot might be darker, Also train tracks on other side of highway but we never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

a very nice place to stay but we did have some problems though ,,i booked 4 rooms in may for our family reunion.but they said computers were not up yet just re opening so would call with conformation.well never heard from them so call in june to make sure all ok .well once more they didn't have us down so re booked or rooms and i got conformation number 206-208/218-220 we wanted joining rooms and no smoking and belcony....well after are nice trip from the city's we get here and what NO ROOM'S WERE BOOK FOR US. ..well they did find rooms for us on different floors 2 of us had to take smoking rooms,,, then i lost my stone out of my ring in pool ..the guy did look for me a few different times for me but no such luck:::::((((( all was great on sat we ask if we could use party room to play card and they let us we had fun doing that,..we then on sunday breakfast we got up a little late 9.15 am and NO BREAKFAST LEFT come on no butter no biscuit's and gravy no donuts no nothing but cereal and frozen waffel 's.what the heck for a 150.00 a night you must do better then this or people won't come back ....PS you have a kitchen you should do better then this!!!!!!!BUT i will say the view is very nice should cut down few tree for a better view.. loved the pool the slide and all....but would we come again i would say YES also bed are very HARD need to put a good pad down to make more soft..psss i also found a ring in lot when was looking for my stone .and found out it was terry's that worked happy ending for her....and she was my cuz mary's friend. also had to let them know what to fix in our room bathroom door handel and toilet was wobbly. i need to work there to get into shape lol hope to be back soon

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Now called Oveson's. Slow staff at desk complained extensively about being overwhelmed (but we were the only ones checking in). Waited for room way past check-in time. Continental breakfast now consists of a few cold cereals and slimy biscuits and sausage. Pool staff didn't do job, appeared very unhappy and kept leaving and putting a parent in charge.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Rooms were spacious and clean. The lake view from the balcony was outstanding. If you have kids, there is an indoor pool and water slide. Great place to stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here after going to the Vince Shute Bear sanctuary. It was very nice and had great views of the lake. The sunsets are wonderful over the water. The rooms were clean. The breakfast was like any other that you don't pay for. The lodge is modern and nicely outfitted like a north country lodge. I would stay here again. You will need insect spray or a Thermacell to stay outside after dark!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lake side have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed here in February of 2011 (the 19th to be exact). The place was full of snowmobiliers enjoying the beautiful countryside in the area. We stayed in a fireplace/Jacuzzi room and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

This hotel is very nice set up like a lodge. Our room had a balcony and had a view of the lake (which was frozen-time of year). Our room was very clean as was the whole hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a relaxing nice place to stay in Orr, this is the one.

Room Tip: The Dam restuarant has very good food
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oveson's Pelican Lake Resort & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oveson's Pelican Lake Resort & Inn

Address: 4675 Highway 53, Orr, MN 56649
Location: United States > Minnesota > Orr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Orr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly resort located on Pelican Lake in Orr, MN. Amenities include: pool, waterslide, hot tub, sauna, bar, restaurant, boat docking and rentals, fish house rentals, snowmobile rentals, and more. Guide services are available for fishing and hunting. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oveson's Pelican Lake Resort & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.