We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf resort on Mille Lacs Lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Izatys Golf and Yacht Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Onamia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Izatys Golf and Yacht Club
Save
You added Izatys Golf and Yacht Club to your Saves list
40005 85th Ave, Onamia, MN 56359-9739   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Onamia
Austin, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great golf resort on Mille Lacs Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We rented a 4 bedroom condo right on the lake through VRBO. The unit we stayed in was very clean and well kept. Lake views and sunsets are awesome. Golf course (Black Brook) is very tough but fun. Pool and hot tub at the clubhouse are fun and there is a bar with food right by the pool. There are a lot of different units here for rent and different prices. Each has different ammenities and some are better than others. Overall this is a great place for fishing, golf, and hanging at the pool. Most units by the lake have huge yards for games and fun!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isanti, Minnesota
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

There are several different options to stay at Izatys. There are 2 BR beach villages where we stayed. These are individually owned places and have different amenities depending on the owner. The first room we got was not very clean, very hot and no internet. The manager was very nice and found us another one that was much nicer, clean and had internet. It is a two story two bedroom unit. The view from the beach village rooms is gorgeous, overlooks Mille Lacs and you feel like you are at the ocean because the lake is huge. We had a screened in patio on the first floor and a deck off the master bedroom on the second floor. There is a full kitchen but I was disappointed that there are no washers and dryers in the units. They also have Lakeside Townhomes which seem to be much newer and I believe from other reviews they have washers and dryers in the units. I don't know if they are owned by Izatys or not. They also have rooms in the lodge which we didn't see. There is a nice pool that was open and a hot tub. The restaurant has very good food. It can be a way to walk from the beach villas and townhomes so if you have trouble walking, those may not be good options. If you bring a boat, it is not convenient. You cannot keep them at your unit, they have to be kept at the marina and it is right next to the lodge but you have to drive a fair amount (probably 3/4 mile) to get there.... Also, there is a 20$ charge to use the boat launch!! We drove up to Isle and used the public access instead as that seemed ridiculous being a paid guest. We were told "everyone pays it". I had heard about the bankrupsy but it must be under new owners? We didn't find any evidence of that and the pool and all facilities were open. We also were told there was going to be a new website next week that would have pictures of these beach house villas so you can see what each one has to offer. My other suggestion is that they have a couple of young gals working at the check in area. They really don't know much and when you ask questions they can't answer them. There should be better training for employees. They should know what is available in the rooms, etc which they don't. They also couldn't answer if we had to pay the launch charge. That would be a suggestion. I think they also need to have a list of what each of the beach villas offer - internet, washer/dryers, amenities etc. Other than that, it was a nice stay. The resort is close to Grand Casino Mille Lacs which we used one day as it rained all day. There is a grocery store in Isle which is about 6-7 miles north of the resort.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

How fantastic! Izaty's is a true vacation resort. It has all you could want. They are on Mille Lacs Lake-HUGE; fishing poles and bait to use, large fishing boat that will take you out on the lake, boats to rent, a phenomenal pool that I spent 3 days at--music, poolside bar, food, great service and just alot of fun and relaxation. I stayed at the lodge; a hotel, which was spotless. They also have very nice and trendy lake side townhomes for rent.
The service is friendly, the restaurant is enticing, and the management is superb. They should be booked 100% year round, this was better than flying somewhere and only a two hour drive from the Twin Cities. A great place for familes as well. I met quite a few families who were there doing a reunion!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

I was looking for a getaway close to the Twin Cities, and took a chance on the Resort at Izatys (the new name for this facilitiy). It is under new management. This was a huge surprise. To find such a beautiful facility so close to home on a gorgeous recreational lake was a pleasant surprise. The facilities are spotless, modern and located in one of the most beautiful park-like locations I have ever seen. Everything one would want is here--golf, fishing, boating, tennis, swimming, and snowboarding and skiing in the winter. Nearby are beautiful state parks, a casino and charming little towns with gift shops, cafes and good food. I want to commend the restaurant in the resort. The food is some of the best I have eaten. Don't miss it! The prices are a gift for this five-star resort. I am a little sorry to be giving this positive review. I want to come back, and I hope the news of this great place doesn't get out too fast.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izatys Townhouse
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

We have been going to Izatys for years. This time we treid one of the privately owned townhomes. They are right on the lake versus near the lake. This one is inbetween the harbor and the lake. Me and my wife spent the week there, and during the later part of the week and especially the weekend, the kids showed up with our grandchildren. It worked out great. Everybody came and went as their schedules allowed. We just set a defined time for lunch & dinner and the girls took care of everything. I got to golf with the boys, she got to go to the casino with the girls. The grandkids had a lot to do. We built a fire on the beach at night. The kids really liked that. I took the grandkids fishing two at a time on the dock. Like the cabins of old but with modern luxury. Cable, softwater etc. The view is astonishing. You can sit an hour with a cup of coffee in your hand just watching the boats come in and out. It's our understanding they have 2&3 bedroom places. But we took the 4bedroom place. Not that expensive. It's not like a hotel. Everything is provided for you. The sheets and towels are all there. Washer dryer if you need them. The owner comes in after and cleans up.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2006

We have stayed at Izatys Resort a number of times and absolutely love it! We always stay in the Lakeside units. They are directly on the water with beautiful views. The unit we stayed in was very comfortable (with 4 bedrooms and 3 baths) and decorated to give that "up north" feel. The restaurant, bar, golf courses, pool, tennis courts are all wonderful. While April is very quiet, it is a great time to visit! In the summer, we enjoy fishing, swimming and golfing. We especially enjoy the wood burning fireplace in the 2 story family room. The deck off the master suite is perfect for having your morning coffee! The staff is alway friendly and helpful. I highly recommend you try it out!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

Stayed two nights during February. Just got in on first night and it seemed cool but we went to bed without too much thought. Downright chilly in morning. Called and they did call back and tell us a boiler was out and it would take a while to warm up. We also asked both front desk and maid for a second blanket. We left and when we returned found maid had turned down both thermostats all the way and so it still took hours for the room to warm up.

Had to call again to get that blanket.

About 11:30 second night loud music greeted us. We called and were told basicly "nothing can be done." Our room did face the main building and I guess Club XIX had a wedding reception. A room on the back side may not have been as noisy.

I contracted for two decent nights' accomodation. I did not get one. No discount or any other remediation was ever offered.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Izatys Golf and Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Izatys Golf and Yacht Club

Address: 40005 85th Ave, Onamia, MN 56359-9739
Location: United States > Minnesota > Onamia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Onamia
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn has been completely remodeled and now features new bathrooms with walk in showers, granite counters, and tile floors. All of the room furnishings are new with comfortable new beds for a restful night's sleep. The Inn at Izatys offers 28 rooms all with golf course views, pool, and hot tub. The Inn is adjacent to the clubhouse with banquet facility, ParTake restaurant, and pro shop. Standard accommodations at the resort feature king beds or two queen beds. All rooms have flat panel TVs with cable. Our Deluxe King Suite features a king size bed, living room with wet bar, refrigerator, fireplace, and a balcony overlooking the golf course. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Izatys Golf And Yacht Club Hotel Onamia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Izatys Golf and Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.