We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf and boats, boats and golf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Izatys Golf and Yacht Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Onamia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Izatys Golf and Yacht Club
Save Saved
You added Izatys Golf and Yacht Club to your Saves list
40005 85th Ave, Onamia, MN 56359-9739   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Onamia
Red Wing, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Golf and boats, boats and golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We had a very large 2 level time share that sat tight on a golf green and 50 feet from Lake Mille Lac. It is a beautiful location and setting.

The unit seemed clean, but there were large spider webs in the windows. Spiders can build a web pretty fast, but it was hard not to feel that if they didn't vacuum the obvious webs, what else was overlooked?

Spacious and everything else seemed complete. The downside of being on a golf course is that gofers can be kind of loud and obnoxious, so be aware.

The resort is not pedestrian friendly. There are no sidewalks and the roads are narrow. Make no mistake, this resort targets boaters and golfers, period.

I liked it here as far as it goes (I was here for a wedding) but these kind of resorts have a weird sense of entitlement. They can get congested and it can be a party atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
blaine, mn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Our golfing group used to make an annual trip to Izaty's. The golf courses, the accommodations, and the service were great. However, given their issues and our desire to check out other golf courses/resorts in the area, it had been four or five years since we had been to Izaty's.

We decided to head back to the resort this year. And, I'm glad we did!!!

Despite a deluge of rain the night before we arrived, the course was in great shape, although a little soggy. And, the course lay-out is everything we remember. That is, fantastic! #14 is a par 3 right on Lake Mille Lacs and Sunday was an experience! 20 mph plus winds coming off the lake, 4-5 foot waves crashing into the shore made it feel like a Pebble Beach hole (I would guess as I have never been to PB).

We stayed in the hotel. The accommodations were OK but suited our purpose. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There was a fish smell in the entryways but learned that was due to the recent hatch of fish flies which out in force. But, the smell did not make it into the rooms.

The service was fantastic from the time we checked in, to the pro shop, the on course beverage service, and the restaurant. There isn't any service at the hotel but we really didn't need anything there.

The food in the restaurant was outstanding. I had the French Quarter and it was fantastic. The others in the group had prime rib and all agreed it was extremely good. We also had breakfast and lunch at the restaurant and all the meals were very good.

The resort is still owned by the bank. But, it appears that some money and attention is being paid to the place. It has a ways to go but the necessary basics are being tended to.

It had been a long time between visits to Izaty's. I have a feeling that it won't be near as long before my next visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed at Izatys as the Casino was booked up.

It was early in the season so not much going on at the resort and we were one of only five rooms that were booked for the night we stayed. It was difficult to figure out where to go to check in due to limited staff.

We had quite a bit of trouble getting our key to work in the front door to the building and also to our room. Rooms are not much to get excited over but was clean and the bed was comfortable. As mentioned by others the rooms are very light due to the mini blinds on the windows so you will be awake at the crack of dawn.

No mention when checking in that they have limited coverage of the front desk so you can not check out until 9 am. We were up early so ended up leaving our key in the room and calling and leaving a message that we did that.
Not much to do this time of the year in the area and we had a hard time finding restaurants/bars.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, MN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My two sisters, my mother, and myself stayed at the resort in April for 4 nights. We where in one of the lakeside townhomes. Our stay was AMAZING! Our townhome was huge, lots of room for all of us to stretch out, a huge, newly remodeled kitchen, the master was amazing, the Clubhouse had AMAZING food (I had a hankering for something and they CREATED it for me!)! The grounds where well taken care of, the staff was friendly, and I really want to go back today! I highly recommend staying in a lakeside townhome. They are WAY worth the money!

The resort is situated between a few very small, very cute little towns. Restaurants, gift shopping, or grocery shopping is very close by! We bought some very cute gifts for family and friends in Isle (about 10 min or less away) and where able to get any groceries we needed.

Room Tip: We stayed in 202, it was GORGEOUS! I do recommend a Lakeside Townhome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed at the Izaty's hotel for a weekend and knew ahead of time that the resort is bank-owned, so our expectations weren't that high. We also didn't need much - just a comfortable room - CLEAN - where we had space to put up a pack-n-play for the kids and everyone could sleep.

There are a few things to know before you try to book a relaxing weekend here.

1) The rooms are clean, but they are not updated. Which is fine - but it's good to know ahead of time that the windows have no coverings, except for some mini-blinds that are too small for the window and therefore let in a lot of light. We had no way to darken the room, so our three tiny kids were awake until sundown - 9:30/10 p.m. - and were up with the sun at 6 a.m. Same at naptime - no way to darken the room, so that was a real challenge. So, our kids didn't sleep enough and were tired and crabby all weekend.

2) Read online about what the resort has been through the last several years and you'll have an appreciation for the current state its in - that a small group of people got it up and running with very little notice when the bank needed to get it going after it went into foreclosure. When you do this, it'll help you see past the exteriors that need painting and grooming, the interiors that are out of date, etc. The staff is just keeping it running - there are no extras right now.

3) Except for one lovely girl who served us at Club XIX and a young man who served us at the Pirate's Pub, the staff members at the resort were really disappointing. Rude, unhelpfu,l, unmotivated and actually kind of snobby given the atmosphere of the place. Example: We wanted to rent a golf cart since the grounds are huge, so we went to the pro shop where a dozen or so golf carts were parked (adjacent the pool). The young man basically blew us off. He told us to go to the Village Clubhouse at the golf course (wouldn't even give us a phone # for it or answer any questions about pricing, availability), so we piled the kids in the car, drove over there and were told none were available. Awesome.

All in all, if you're looking for a place to sleep indoors, but are going to spend most of your time on the lake, golfing or in the pool, Izaty's in its current state is fine. But if you're looking for a place to relax, sleep in past sunrise or be pampered, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here because the casino was booked. First off, the grounds are beautiful, it's great just to walk around and enjoy the lake. We did read other reviewers warnings about the hotel rooms and were expecting the worst...it wasn't too bad. For an older resort that has had some financial trouble recently, you get what you pay for. We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and booked a king suite but ended up with a standard room. The manager tried to make it right by giving us a suite for one night. If we stayed again, we'd probably book the suite outright, we did the 'couples getaway' with meals in the restaurant (seemed like a good deal with a king suite - not with a standard room). In the restaurant, the food to order was great, the Sunday morning buffet was terrible. The rooms were clean and kept up but the hotel overall showed signs of wear. Nothing that affected our stay. The major complaints I would have about this place is that the staff was disorganized, no one seemed to be in charge (and the 'manager' could be seen out back smoking every time we walked by) and no one knew what was going on with our meal tickets. We had to have the bill in the restaurant changed every time we ate there because the prices were wrong. My other major complaint is the pool. It was very cloudy and a thick layer of film on the top, yet it was filled with people constantly, I couldn't believe it. It seems like no one is taking proper care of the pool and no one really cared. Pools can make people very very sick, I do wish they paid a bit more attention to it. I will be calling the state health department once it opens up again...it was that bad!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We needed an inpromptu getaway with the kids and we headed north to Mille Lacs Lake and stayed at Izatys Resort. It only took a little over an hour to get there and less than a tank of gas. We stayed in a room with 2 beds in the thotel. Although the room was in need of some updating it was clean and spacious. What it lacked in modern decor, it made up for in the fact that there was a refrigerator and a microwave, which were nice conveniences that we didnt expect. The whole family loved the outdoor pool area, I think we spent 99% of our time there! There is even a pool bar for refreshments and food. The entire staff was pleasant, knowlegable and very helpful... we could not have asked for a better experience.
My husband played a round of golf before we headed home and said it was a fun and challenging course and he said it is in great shape.
All in all, we had a super fun time and plan on getting up there again this summer when we can!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Izatys Golf and Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Izatys Golf and Yacht Club

Address: 40005 85th Ave, Onamia, MN 56359-9739
Location: United States > Minnesota > Onamia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Onamia
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn has been completely remodeled and now features new bathrooms with walk in showers, granite counters, and tile floors. All of the room furnishings are new with comfortable new beds for a restful night's sleep. The Inn at Izatys offers 28 rooms all with golf course views, pool, and hot tub. The Inn is adjacent to the clubhouse with banquet facility, ParTake restaurant, and pro shop. Standard accommodations at the resort feature king beds or two queen beds. All rooms have flat panel TVs with cable. Our Deluxe King Suite features a king size bed, living room with wet bar, refrigerator, fireplace, and a balcony overlooking the golf course. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Izatys Golf And Yacht Club Hotel Onamia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Izatys Golf and Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.