We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandhill Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Begbroke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandhill Guest House
Save
You added Sandhill Guest House to your Saves list
9 Sandhill Road, Begbroke, Oxford OX5 1RS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Begbroke B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed at the Sandhill Guest House (Gold room) for two nights while having a break away from London. The room was great... clean, well furnished, had a good amount of space, fantastic shower and had lots of thoughtful amenities/ luxuries.

A special mention must go to Lauren and Khalid who were kind and friendly, offered great service and made our stay in their family home very comfortable. Khalid's breakfasts are just fantastic, try the pancakes when you get a chance!

Room Tip: Take the gold room. Try the pancakes
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
42
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We Stayed in the gold room the room was lovely and tidy and furnished was nice the bed was comfortable bathroom and shower tidy and spacious nice little cooler fridge to keep cool drinks especially it was hot that weekend. Over all it felt like home from to another home and good service breakfast was beautiful. The owners of this guesthouse has done them self proud making us feel so welcome and comfortable would definitely go again. Thank you Sandhill guesthouse !!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Many many thanks to lauren and khalid on making me very welcome to their lovely b and b.
I would recommend this to anyone thinking of staying in the oxford area. Breakfast excellent especially eggs benedict. Their daughter is so cute.Once again many thanks to you both and shall no hesitate in staying there again if in that area.
chris middlesbrough

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night for business in this beautiful b&b, room is beautiful, hosts are really friendly and accommodating, lovely homemade breakfast with locally sourced produce not one complaint would recommend to anyone looking for a quiet place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed at Sandhill Guest House in 2013 for one night after going on a bit of a ‘tour’ of Oxford hotels. The B&B wasn’t the easiest to find in the dark, something a bit more prominent on the road would make it a lot easier in the winter. The welcome was friendly, and the room was clean, large and equipped with everything you could need.

The bathroom had a large bath and powerful shower, and was spotlessly clean.

There was an ample choice for breakfast, although choosing on arrival was a pain, but understandable. Having gone for smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, I was very happy in the morning to eat a delicious breakfast.

Overall Sandhill Guest House is a very friendly B&B with good breakfast and well furnished, modern rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Only stayed one night and didn't spend much time there as very busy with work nearby, but lovely room, lovely hosts, most excellent breakfast! Not the most picturesque spot but incredibly handy for Oxford and surrounding areas.

Room Tip: I stayed in the gold room, very nicely furnished, great en-suite. Lots of lovely thoughtful touches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Piemonte, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

First of all I have to say thank you to Khal and Lauren, the Sandhill's owners, they were so kind with me! They are lovely people! I have been for 10 days and they have allowed me to use theirs kitchen to cook my stuff. Khal has lent me his bicycle to get the airport and riding around. I have had a great time with them despite I have had 10 hard days of training at the Oxford airport. I have been in the silver-room, really lovely, comfortable and clean. I really suggest this house to everybody both for the place and for the owners, they have treated me as part of theirs family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandhill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhill Guest House

Address: 9 Sandhill Road, Begbroke, Oxford OX5 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford > Begbroke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Begbroke
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandhill Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.