We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms to your Saves list
Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   73-4261 Mamalahoa Hwy., Kalaoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kalaoa B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
The Hague
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We visited “Mango Sunset BnB” in August 2012. We stayed there for three nights. I am reading some of these reviews and I honestly cannot believe when I see what people complain about. It seems to me like they all grew up with silver spoons in their mouths.
We arrived pretty late, it was almost midnight, but thanks to a good explanation, we didn’t have any troubles finding the place. We followed the instructions and found ourselves in the room that was not a size of a Beverly Hills house (which I think is quite OK, don’t you?), but a quite nice BnB room. Everything was clean and nice, and the fact that we didn’t have a bath tub didn’t bother us at all. Later during our vacation, we spent one night at Hilton hotel also in Kona and that room also didn’t have a bath tub (imagine!)
We met with Marsha and the daughter Karen in the morning, we had a nice chat and an amazing coffee. Breakfast was really great, freshly made every day and served from 07h30 (not 07h00!) to 09h00. There was another couple there at the time we were there, so it wasn’t crowded. Unfortunately, we didn’t have a chance to go for a coffee tour because we already planned too many activities, but if we go back to Kona, we definitely will. We met Hans briefly when we went to buy coffee and we had a nice, short chat with him.
The estate is really beautiful with lot of amazing plants and fruits that we never saw before. The view from the lanai was wonderful and it was nice to sit there in the morning having first coffee and breakfast. Taking off shoes is something that is common in Hawaii and my boyfriend and I have no problem following the good old saying “When in Rome…”.
We would definitely go back!

Mahalo Karen, Marsha and Hans for our lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    46
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
21
101
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adamstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Cool - in that the B&B is located up in the higher elevations where you enjoy the cooler temperatures. Comfortable - in that the rooms are nicely done and roomy and the lanai has a great ocean vista. Great Eats! in that Hans makes some of the greatest tasting pancakes, waffles and breakfast treats that we had so far on the 4 B&B's we got to experienced so far. The wife and I enjoyed it and would return here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed two nights at Mango Sunset B&B. The first challenge we had was trying to make sense of the complicated instructions that were sent on booking. After reading the instructions carefully several times and realising that they were written for ease of the person writing them not the traveller we arrived. It is worth noting that several roads are VERY steep!
We were shown to our room which looked ok at first glance but the more we looked the worse it got. The cleaning is done to a very basic level, stained nets in the bathroom, lots of insects, cobwebs and dust in corners. The towels were a little musty and the room was decorated to reflect budget travelling. The furniture was good quality but the finish of the room let it down.
One important thing to note is that there are no locks on the doors and no chance of a lie in!
The coffee farm tour, which we were very much looking forward to took several hours and was more of a I talk you listen. Hans is an interesting character and if after arriving had we not read the reviews we may have taken him the wrong way. He does not put guests at ease and there is a fear that it may be you who is next for a telling off as he runs a very tight ship!
On a positive note breakfast was tasty and we know it was all freshly made as we stayed in a room next to the kitchen and the walls and door leading to it are very thin.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona_Innkeeper, Owner at Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
These young guests, on honeymoon from the UK, were a first in more than one way. Our "directions" that go out with our confirmations are frequently lauded for being "super clear". Never, from 100s of guests, have we heard that they were "complicated", and certainly not from native English speakers. So sorry these two guest found them so. Writing directions for "the ease of the person writing them" would be, well, silly: their only purpose is to make it clear and easy for travelers to find us. The only limitation is space provided by the system (we are limited to 5oo words or so). Noting that several roads (in Hawaii?) "are very steep" is like noting that the ocean is wet: Yes, some roads in Hawaii are steep, as one might expect when one goes from zero to 2000 feet in 4 miles, but all roads from the airport to us are public and residential, and these guests arrived by car not bicycle (as some guest do). The "ok at first glance" rooms can all be seen on our extensive website that's full of photographs. We call our rooms "cozy", not plush or huge. The "lots of insects, cobwebs, and dust" is made up: definitely no such thing; we clean all rooms daily when occupied, and give it an extra go-over before guests arrive, when we also decorate the room with fresh flowers. Towels are never musty. Since this CAN be a problem in the tropics, we have additionally trained our staff to give our set of trowels (plus washrag, shower mat, hand towel) a "smell test": do they smell nice and fresh? Room decoration "reflecting budget traveling": well, yes, while the average hotel room price in Hawaii is about $250 without breakfast, we charge $120 WITH a full breakfast and parking. We have Hawaiian art prints, in frames and other wall hangings, including color printed cloth, plus wood carvings, etc. "Important to note that there were no locks on the door" Hm..., false. All doors have locks, rooms, house entrance, etc., it's just that nobody ever wants a key. So far, only one previous guest in 8 years wanted a key, and they were from Hong Kong. The key(s) would have been theirs for the asking. Our property has its own 1500 ft private paved driveway from the State Highway, with a gate to the farm entrance half way up Usually wide open). The 8 acre property is fully fenced, with even barbed wire, to keep the many wild pigs from coming in and destroying our topsoil and irrigation systems. Our place is super-safe, super-private, and (apparently nearly) everyone sees that right away. That "no locks" part is baffling: we have farm interns who help us with everything, including the BnB, and we screen them very carefully. Nearly all of them are college students. We are 100% nicotine and 100% drug free. Our (other) guests have always been most trustworthy with no hint EVER that suspicion was warranted. And, all doors can of course be locked from the inside even WITHOUT any key. The coffee tour has the reputation of being the best on the Island. I have given it 100s of times, and as a former professor, I know how to present things clearly and easily understood. Yes, a lecture is not a discussion. If it were, it would truly last "several hours". Most importantly, I do not charge my guests anything. My time is precious (I work 60 hrs. p. week), but I feel that PROVIDING education to those who specifically request it is a crucial component of what I think makes a good Certified Organic farm owner (only 40 of 800 coffee farms are organic). So, my emphasis is on education, not entertainment. I have won gold and silver medals every year for the last 5, and pride myself of producing the best coffee I can. Sometimes, you have ingrates, and I wish they'd take a tour on farms where the usual charge is $20-$30, and the delivery is often by a recent high school graduate. The "very tight ship" I run according to this guest would have to be limited to breakfast time, which I take with our guests on the ocean view lanai, because thereafter, guests are on their own. We make it an important point to stress that there are NO limitations to walking around on the farm, the coffee mill, the drying deck, and among our 80 varieties of tropical fruit and herb gardens. This guest appeared stressed-out upon arrival, and we thought that was because of a long, hard trip to here. We always offer guests (free) tea upon arrival to help them recuperate from luggage or rental car challenges. The room next to the kitchen does not have "thin walls"--all of our walls are standard size and are INSULATED FOR SOUND. However, there is a door, always locked, between kitchen and that room, so yes, one can hear that there is activity in the kitchen. However, I begin cooking in that kitchen at 7:30 AM and serve by 8:00, not really a time span that would keep guests from being relaxed before they walk out to meet the other guests and eat with them on our killer-view veranda (lanai). We do our very best to make guest comfortable in our home, which is what a BnB is. Some guests might be simply more comfortable in one of the many (more expensive and louder) hotels in Kona, but we work hard and feel fortunate that the huge majority of all of our dear guests are happy during their days with us, and happy later, when they reflect on their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The location is great because it's only 10 minutes to the "downtown core" of Kona. I will trade this 10 minutes of travel time for the coolness you get up on the mountain in the evenings for sleeping. Especially after spending a day in the heat, it was very refreshing to return to the Mango Sunset.

When you wake up in the morning, you get a delicious homecooked breakfast with some of (if not the) best coffee you'll ever have. They also have great fresh juice for the non-coffee lovers out there.

The hosts were great to talk with about the Island and it's activities and history, and just to have general conversation with. They were also accomodating as our flights were cancelled and we had to push back our visit a day, which helped alleviate a stressful situation.

This is the place I will return to when I come back to the Big Island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay in July, at the tail end of a storm they had. The cool air and fantastic views were awesome. Breakfast and coffee and morning music made our stay memorable. Hans and Marsha were perfect hosts and very organized. This was our first stay at any B&B. It won't be our last. Hasso the dog was a pleasant greeter along with the woofers. They seemed to be excited for their opportunity to be there and learn/work. I bought coffee to take home. It reminds us of our stay at Mangos. We'll see you again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Keaau, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This b & b is not to be missed as Hans and Marsha are wonderful hosts. We very much enjoyed our stay at their beautiful place, and the sunset views high above Kona are a treat for anybody. The rooms were clean, and the breakfasts were just awesome- especially the lilikoi pancakes and the coffee.

The elevation at which the b&b is located is perfect, and the evenings and mornings were wonderfully cool.

As a Big Island resident, but living on the Hilo side, we often get a chance to try many kinds of Kona coffee but Hans coffee is the best. Their coffee has almost a rich, creamy taste with the french press coffee we were served in the morning having nearly a foamy head, reminiscent of freshly roasted Peet's coffee. The Vienna roast was simply superb. It is worth to stay at the Mango Sunset just for a chance to try their coffee. Plus, Hans is very knowledgable about natural history and farming, so I learned a lot from him.

Room Tip: If possible try for the room with the bathroom inside, but all rooms are clean and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brook Park
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Close to Kailua-Kona, but up on the mt. where we could listen to the birds singing and were away from the hubub. Excellent food. Beautiful view. Gracious hosts. Enjoyed Hans' stories.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms

Address: 73-4261 Mamalahoa Hwy., Kalaoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kalaoa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kalaoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family -style BnB, located in 2111' above the ocean on our gold-medal-winning Organic Kona Coffee Estate. Hot breakfasts and parking included; free WiFi, plus our Organic Kona Coffee, fruit, juice included. Quiet and secluded, cozy,private driveway. Breathtaking ocean views across our Kona Coffee Farm from the West Lanai and the Gazebo, where serve our breakfast to all of our guests. Minutes from Kona town, beaches and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Sunset Bnb At Lyman Farms Hotel Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.