We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rondeau” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rondeau Provincial Park

Rondeau Provincial Park
R.R.#1 (Hwy.15), Morpeth, Ontario N0P 1X0, Canada
519-674-1750
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Morpeth
Attraction details
Chatham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rondeau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

this is a beautiful park, deer and raccoons all over the place sometimes tho and they are too friendly - my son got surrounded by raccoons he was feeding once and a deer stuff its nose into my car window and touched my face - how is that for close. The fishing there is great, the park is magnificent and there is a short hiking trail and beautiful sandy beaches. Good family day!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“An interesting park.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

This provincial park has a nice beach area. The dept of natural resources has a person to tell about the wildlife found there, and bird watchers spend time there. There are some private cottages in the park, as well as walking trails. It is quite pricey to go there for the day

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Terrific walking trails.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

There are walking trails that are well groomed and well maintained. Each has a description before entering the trail, that give you the kms. Lots of birds to watch. Fantastic fall colours. Will go again soon.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Campground and Beaches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were very impressed with our campsite, and the park overall. The Rondeau Lake beaches are very nice, and water was clean, with sandy bottom. The Visitors centre was also interesting, with live animals to view, and also very detailed displays. The Rondeau bay side was nice, and we were privileged to view an absolutely amazing sunset!!! My only critique, which is a major one, was the overall cleanliness of the bathrooms/showers. I did not see any park staff cleaning all weekend. The stalls had dirty floors, and the sink area was wet and dirty. On Sunday at 8:00AM there was only toilet paper in 2 stalls. Also, there were no "shortcut" trails to the washrooms, which meant either walking through another campsite (if the campers were nice enough to allow, as we encountered a rude camper Friday night), or walking all the way around the roadways (which is frustrating when you can clearly view the washrooms only a campsite away).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice campground but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The park itself is lovely. The beach is nice and the amenities are clean and plentiful. The problem is that after a certain time at night there are no park staff on duty. Everyone goes home. With a dozen drunken noisy people at the site next to me I had had quite enough by 3:30 am. So did the campers next to me by the sound of a crying child. There was no one at the main entrance; no one at the camping gate and no one at the park office I could speak to about the issue. I remember not that long ago there used to be park rangers that would ask campers to tone it down after a certain time. Cut backs I guess.?. So, if you want to par tay all night ...this is your place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rondeau Provincial Park also viewed

 

Been to Rondeau Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rondeau Provincial Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.