We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normally good service was lacking this day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lobster

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Red Lobster
8350 3rd Street North, Oakdale, MN 55128
651-264-0151
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Oakdale
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Normally good service was lacking this day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We visited Red Lobster on a Monday afternoon for my birthday. We were advised when we sat down that our waitress was working with a large party but that she would be around. At first, the service was fine but after the food was delivered, we didn't see her again.
We needed a couple of things and had to ask the hostess and other servers for help. We waited at least 20 minutes for our bill. A different server brought our bill and told us (again) how our waitress was busy with a large table. As he was telling us this, he started piling up dishes on top of the food I was hoping to take home- smashing it all. I had to jump in and tell him I was waiting for a box but that no one had followed up with us.....
I was very frustrated by the time we left.

Why the other three waiters I saw walking around couldn't take her tables, while she was busy- I will not understand. Bad planning.

Normally we've had very good service at this Red Lobster, I wasn't expecting lacking service during a late lunch....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Fish and Chips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went out for Labor Day with a bunch of family members for the "Endless Shrimp"! I was watching my waistline and did not want all you can eat so I went with the fish and chips. The fish was Haddock and very good! I thought it was a good value for the money. Everyone was feeling a little too full but me at the end. I also liked it with the good old English malt vinegar! I would go this route again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Just another chain restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I haven't been to a "Red Lobster" in many years. I'm wondering what is the draw? Maybe the biscuits, they were served warm and were good. Everything else was average. Over dressed salad, the shrimp served in the "Shrimp Festival" were so small.....that was a surprise. So enjoy you Red Lobster Fans, I'm just not one of them.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Cheap eats, tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

So yeah, it's no Oceanaire, but who can afford to eat like that every day? I like Red Lobster occasionally and they have some really great lunch deals. And those cheesy biscuits...Yummy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, MN
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Red Lobster Tops Itself in Woodbury, MN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I've been wanting to add to what I've already said in another rave review of Red Lobster in Woodbury. My husband and I go there as often as we can. While Red Lobster isn't cheap, you get first class quality in the service, the food, and the whole thing! Several times while we were eating our meals there, Guy Ficek, the manager, stopped by several tables, taking an active interest in how the guests were enjoying their meals. When he came by ours, I noticed that he recongized we had become "regulars." He was very kind when we explained we are seniors on a budget and really appreciated getting coupons. He and his assitant manager on another occasion gave us some coupons, allowing us to come in more often. As I have said before, the food is fabulous! i love this new seafood combination, which is simmered in a light wine/seafood sauce, served with linguine and some still in the shells. Their Cheddar Bay Bisuits are always fresh and served hot. They made a change in the Garden Salads that we really like; they are served chopped now. At our latest visit, I tried the Talapia Stuffed with Seafood, and it was delicious! No other place we have ever been anywhere in the country has better baked potatoes than Red Lobster. These are served with butter and sour cream.. We have enjoyed both lunches and dinners at Red Lobster and are eager to return there. Parking can be challenging in peak times, especially due to competition from another restaurant next door which shares the lot. Red Lobster does not accept reservations.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lobster also viewed

 

Been to Red Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.