We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   970 Helena Avenue North, Oakdale, MN 55128-5388   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakdale
Anaheim
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Based on other reviews, I am guessing some of the problems occurred because it was the All Star week, but really from beginning to end it was not great. The beds were noisy and so uncomfortable. Perhaps some of the worst I have experienced in a long, long time. The staff was helpful without being friendly, again maybe too much going on because of the game, but still we are paying more because of it! Breakfast was so so, room was so so. The bathtub felt like it would give way when taking a shower. The entry was filled with smokers (outside). How about not allowing smoking right in front of the entrance? I was happy this was just a one night stay and I can't recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoakdale, Manager at BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear NorthOCTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. You time and input are greatly appreciated.

So sorry to hear that your stay was underwhelming. It is certainly our goal to provide all of our guests with excellent accommodations and exceptional customer service, regardless of the business levels. We will certainly look into what happened that weekend to assure our guests do not experiences like yours during peak business times.

I hope that you will give us another try so that we can prove to you that your previous experience was an exception and not the rule!

All the best,
BW Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    42
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
37
24
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

First off, it was MLB all star weekend, so way over priced, but as was every other place in the area.
Nice, quick, helpful staff. Clean rooms, with very comfy beds. Tv was great with guide and many options (as I was kept up in bed for the 2 day stay). Location was great, quick to St Paul & Woodbury (our 2 destinations). I did not have the breakfast, but my husband said it was good.
Only complaints are the tub did not drain fast enough while taking a shower, and walls are very thin, hearing next door super easy.
Overall great stay, would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoakdale, Manager at BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear CheewyBrooke,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at out Best Western Regency Plaza. Your time and input are greatly appreciated!

Glad to hear you enjoyed most of your experience with us. We will have maintenance look into the plumbing issues you encountered in your room.

Hope we will see you again the next time you are visiting the Twin Cities area!

All the best,
BW Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Mn, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Very average place. Breakfast did not cater for anyone who didn't eat bacon. Bathroom door was hard to close and was also squeaky. It was reported but the problem was not fixed. Also there are no blankets that come in the room. You have to request it at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoakdale, Manager at BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Ahsan K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. Your time and input is greatly appreciated.

We are sorry that our breakfast did not provide you with options that you prefer. We do rotate our hot items on a daily basis to provide variety. We are always looking for ways to improve our breakfast offering and would welcome any specific feedback as to what items we should look into adding to our variety.

I apologize for the issues with your bathroom door and am looking into why this was not taken care of for you immediately.

Please give us another opportunity to show you the type of customer service and experience you deserve!

All the best,
BW Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Don't stay here with a group. They assume everyone is out to cause trouble. The staff was rude to parents and kids. Our kids were very well behaved. Parents got yelled at as soon as they got off the elevator.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoakdale, Manager at BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Rhosis,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. Your time and input is greatly appreciated.

So sorry to hear your group's experience was less than welcoming. It is certainly not our intent to provide less than exceptional customer service to any of our guests and we will certainly look into the specifics of what happened during your group's stay with us. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly and speak with management to let us know specifics about your experiences with us so that we can be assured that this never happens again.

Hope you will give us a chance to to prove this was an isolated incident.

All the best,
BW Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stay at a lot of Best Western hotels on our travels because we are always treated well, our rooms are clean and comfortable, and the rewards program has been outstanding. This hotel has become our place to stay in St. Paul, MN when we are there on business which is about one or two times a month.

The hotel has been remodeled and it is quite nice. The lobby is bright, and welcoming and the staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast area is super clean and well stocked for the morning meal. Our rooms have been clean, quite and very comfortable.

The transit to downtown St. Paul is no problem in normal traffic situations. However, all bets are off when it snows because this is Minnesota and we seem to forget how to drive on snow between storms; I jest (slightly). This hotel is located in a good neighborhood and you do not have to drive far for good meals or shopping (bottle shop is right across the street)!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoakdale, Manager at BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear oldsorb,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your most recent stay with is. You tome is greatly appreciated!

So glad to hear that we have become your accommodation of choice when you are staying in the St. Paul, MN area. We are continually working to improve our hotel and guest experiences and we are glad you have noticed some of these changes!

Looking forward to your next stay.

All the best,
BW Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just okay. It seems tired, and in need of some help, which it might be getting. There was a section of the parking lot blocked off that looked like it may be construction materials. Our room had a very noisy air conditioning unit; so noisy it kept me awake. The safety latch on the door was broken; as if some one kicked the door in so hard that it broke! These things made it a less than comfortable stay for us.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoakdale, Manager at BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear msbien,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, regarding you stay with us back in May. We appreciate your time and input! So sorry to hear that your stay was less than perfect. We will try and track the room down that you stayed in and make sure our maintenance team addresses those issues immediately. As you noticed by the containers in the parking lot, we are doing some room renovations and updates to give our rooms a more modern feel. We hope that you will give us another try the next time you are in the Twin Cities area!

All the best,
BW Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I travel a lot for business and generally stay at the Best Western chain because of their great rewards program. This is one of the nicer BW I have stayed at. Clean, updated rooms, nice complimentary breakfast, fitness room that is not closed off from everything. No pool, but large hot tub.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoakdale, Manager at BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Karla D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, regarding your most recent stay with is. Your time and input is greatly appreciated! We are glad to hear that our hotel exceeded your expectations and that you had a pleasant stay with us. Glad to hear you were able to take advantage of some of our amenities during your stay. Nice to see you also noticed some of our renovations to the rooms that are ongoing! We look forward to your next visit!

All the best,
BW Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East

Address: 970 Helena Avenue North, Oakdale, MN 55128-5388
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Oakdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Regency Plaza Hotel – St. Paul East is ideally located just minutes east of St. Paul and the Xcel Energy Center. The service is impeccable and the accommodations are both comfortable and affordable. Guests staying at this Oakdale hotel will enjoy well-appointed spacious guest rooms featuring satellite television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Wi-Fi Internet access. A complimentary hot breakfast buffet is served to hotel guests every morning. Dining is made easy at the Best Western Regency Plaza Hotel with two Bar & Grills conveniently located in the hotel parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oakdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.