We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chapati

Chapati
214 Division St S, Northfield, MN 55057-2013
507-645-2462
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 47 Restaurants in Northfield
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Description: Cuisine of India located in the Archer House River Inn in the heart of Northfield, Minnesota. We serve a selection of traditional Indian dishes as well as several of our own creation. Wine and beer available. Lunch buffet. Rang Jamaye! Enjoy!
MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We love the buffet here. Always tasty. We don't go very often, and won't because one of the partners is a snake in the grass. But the people that run it and cook are great.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frontenac
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Indian Buffet in Minnesota?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Every dish was a winner. The Nan was soft. The papadams were crispy. The rice was fragrant. The curries were delicious and various. The pickles and sauces are home-made. Go for the luncheon buffet (about $10 each) Bring friends. Nestled into the belly of the Archer House, a delightful old fashioned hotel. Leave full and happy. Bow to the Buddha on your way out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A little too hot for me, but all of my adult children rave about their food. There is enough variety, however, to find something to please every palate.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin, usa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you are a fan of Indian food, this is the spot for you. It is not inexpensive, but definitely worth the price. They also have some great Indian beers!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I'm a college student and frequent the lunch buffet, and the food is excellent. For around 11 dollars its all you can eat. Be sure to try its rice pudding.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapati also viewed

 

Been to Chapati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.