We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Workman's & Students Caf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hogan Brothers

Hogan Brothers
415 Division St S, Northfield, MN 55057-2019
507-645-6653
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Northfield
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Nivillac, France
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Workman's & Students Caf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Yes you'll see the world here, even Grandpa having one of their sandwiches and a coffee. They prepare them in front of you at breakneck speed, that does not mean short rations either they're stuffed with goodness, why else would students from both the nearby colleges be customers? All is good and well priced the place clean and on Main Street. If your in Northfield and within of train' hoot of the town well worth a visit but not if you need plate shuffling, upper crust insincere service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    24
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best sub sandwich ever had this is amazing food a few of workers need to take dress better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Best beer cheese soup ever and sub sandwich in the world

Only thing is a few of the workers need to shower and learn better hygiene but I'm getting older I guess mid 30s it's maybe cool to smell a bit with the greasy hair look? Totally worth it though its only 2-3 of them and they are not the waiters so I deal with it local hero- favorite for the whole town

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beer, Beer, Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

1.Beer Cheese Soup...my fingers are crossed as I walk in in hope they are serving
it that day
2. Root Beer on Tap...mmmm
3. They even serve beer! but I can't pass up the root beer!

The sand witches are to die for! I need to remember to ask them if I can get them next day air mailed to me because they are that good.

Just to clear it up...this is a college town, this place employs college students who are working here for extra spending cash, but they go to a tough school. I'm sure they would rather be relaxing or hanging out with friends, but instead they get to serve all of us...give them a break! Notice also that people order slow here too so that contributes to the single slow line...perhaps a drive through would better suit some...don't forget the fries!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best sandwich place in Northfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place is my favorite place to go for lunch. The cracked wheat bread smells amazing when you walk through the door and there is always a comfortable and fun atmosphere. There are different kinds of ice cream with large portions. Great for kids and families visiting as well as for the locals. Great soup selections that never disappoint. Bands also perform in the restaurant, which makes it even more unique than your typical sandwich shop.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Generous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Their soup and sandwich combo was both generous and very delicious. They happened to have some entertainment on the Friday evening we were there and that was a fun bonus.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hogan Brothers also viewed

 
 

Been to Hogan Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hogan Brothers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.