We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1320 Bollenbacher Drive, Northfield, MN 55057   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Northfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little bit of everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I was so impressed by the staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and the rooms and the breakfast. The front desk staff were always happy and helpful with what ever we needed. They took the time to make sure that our stay was great. The front desk receptionist took time to suggest different restaurants in the area and we had a great meal. The lobby was spotless even though they were super busy. I plan on staying here every time we come for business. Thank you to the staff and the manager for making this one of the best stays I've had in a long time.

Room Tip: Plan in advance, it seems their reputation of being the best in town is well known and they tend to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
3
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was my third stay here, and I've enjoyed it each time. The front desk staff are friendly, polite, and very welcoming. The rooms are clean, the lobby is charming, and the breakfast room has a good set-up. Just make sure you book far enough in advance if it's a big college weekend or you'll have to stay someplace else.

Room Tip: I like being on the first floor so I can easily roll out of bed and go grab coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Clean, comfortable, accommodating staff. We had a wedding in Northfield and the large wedding party plus families stayed at this property. The manager,Autumn, and staff were so friendly and accommodating to our needs as we prepared for the wedding. We appreciate the extra care.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Spent a couple of nights at the Americinn in Northfield for a work conference. I really appreciated the welcoming lobby (great for informal gatherings), the free wi-fi and the quiet accommodations.
Although it was a comfortable place to stay, the lack of conveniently placed electrical outlets was a big problem, the fixture in the bathroom was thick with dust, and they were quite stingy with refreshing the bathroom supplies....seriously...they just turned a used plastic cup upside down on the vanity and left it for us to use again instead of supplying another one....who does that?

Room Tip: If you need to stay in Northfield...stay here...at least you won't have a train rumbling by seve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco,Ca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The front desk personnel couldn't be lovelier. The motel facilities are good. Very well insulated for sound. Good wifi connection.
However the roll away and the sofabed were totally broken down and unusable. We had to take the matress and put on floor and still it was lumpy with broken springs. There were no other room in the motel so we made do. It's time to replace.
Another minor problem... They expect
Everyone to wake up early. Breakfast closes at 10:00 as well as housekeeping. They need to consider that some people travel from different time zones and are on vacation, not interested in rushing in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

When my daughter began her schooling at St. Olaf, I tried several hotel and (and one B&B) options. By far, I found that the Americinn offered the best value, cleanliness, and restful atmosphere. The friendly and helpful front desk staff were the icing on the cake during my four years of visiting my daughter in Northfield.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Martha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our AmericInn. It was truly a pleasure having you with us over these past years and we appreciate each and every time you came to stay with us. It is a bittersweet thing saying goodbye to our college student families after the many times they stay in their 4 years at school.

We wish you the best and thank you again for a wonderful four years!

Paul J. McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Americinn for three nights last week during a visit with our Carleton student. We booked a suite since we were planning to work on Friday remotely. The hotel is quite comfortable and quiet. The living room area could use a real desk as this hotel is billed as being suitable for business travelers. The only working surface was a small table. Overall, I was quite pleased with the breakfast and staff. I would love to see a fitness center installed. The only available exercise option is the swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield

Address: 1320 Bollenbacher Drive, Northfield, MN 55057
Location: United States > Minnesota > Northfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Northfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, AmericInn Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Northfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.