We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant is super place for family gathering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quarterdeck Resort & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nisswa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quarterdeck Resort & Restaurant
Save
You added Quarterdeck Resort & Restaurant to your Saves list
9820 Birch Bay Drive S.W., Cty. Rd. 77, Nisswa, MN 56468   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
California
1 review
“Restaurant is super place for family gathering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Dinner in the semi-private dining area was just what our family of 19 (3 generations) was looking for!. Kevin had arranged one large rectangular table, fully set for dinner and decorated with candles and flowers. The extensive menu allowed everyone--whether 8 or 76 years of age--a nice selection of fish, pasta or meat dishes. Many of us went for the walleye. Whether broiled, panfried or breaded, the walleye was a hit. Children's dishes ( The Junior Skippers Menu) for the under 10 crew was varied and enjoyed by our three. The wine menu was not extensive, but we managed to find a nice white and red. The manager was helpful and personable. We had only one server; so she was kept busy, but did a nice job getting the assorted beverages and dishes to the table in good order. The rice pilaf, as noted by a prior reviewer, although not cold was not hot. In contrast, the vegetable of the day was cooked exactly as we llike it and arrived piping hot. This is not a "dress up" or "gourmet" place (hence we rate it four stars and not five), but a good dinner at a reasonable price for an casual or informal outing.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    3
    1
    8
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

Did not stay at the hotel, but went to the restaurant for dinner on July 5th. We had a large group of 13, but had made reservations almost a month in advance. After waiting 15 minutes for our drinks (and the majority of us ordered either wine or soda), we finally received water. We still hadn't been brought any menus so my husband went up and asked the host for some. When we placed our dinner order the restaurant was only 1/3 full, yet after an hour and 10 minutes we had no food. Plates slowly began coming out, although 3 of us didn't get our food until everyone else had almost finished eating (almost 25 minutes later)!! And to top it off 4 of the rice pilafs were ice cold!?!? Absolutely ridiculous!!! At this point we asked to speak with a manager, as we work in the industry and were beyond appalled by the experience thus far. 25 minutes later when we asked again, he finally made his way over making excuse after excuse, and being incredibly rude. All in all, the only bright spot was our server who did a great job under the circumstances. We regulary go to the Boathouse whenever the entire family is in town, but definitely will not be going to back. We will also be making a call into the owner about the manager's behaivor.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

We spent the weekend here in the villa rooms. The room was large and decorated nicely. We had a king size sleigh bed, gas fireplace, small kitchenette and a balcony looking out over the lake. The ceilings are vaulted so the room appears very large. It was quiet and very private the weekend we were there. They have packages available that give you meals with your room but there is no breakfast available unless you go to the restaurant. It does not even open for breakfast until 9:00 so that is very inconvenient if you have plans for your day. It would be a long drive to go somewhere else. The people that work there are great and very helpful and friendly. It is pricey to rent a boat so it would be better to go to another resort and do that. It is not cheap to stay here but it is nice. In the area there are lots of places to choose from that have the same amenities and cost less. But this one has a certain charm.

  • Liked — the beautiful view of the lake
  • Disliked — breakfast is too late and it is pricey
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

What a disappointment! Cabins are old and the AC does not work. Grounds are in disrepair. The rec room is a run down building with old beat up couches and a few games and puzzles. The restaurant was okay, but not recommended for more than one meal.

We found two other resorts that were clean and had manicured grounds next door. Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2006

My gal and I had a blast at this place. The owners knew us by our first names within two days and were wonderfully helpful with every aspect of our getaway. A must stay for anyone looking to stay away from the bigger, pricier joints.

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2005

Quarterdeck is not an inexpensive resort to stay at. Our expectations FAR exceeded our experience there. While the owners are very gracious and warm, it doesn't preclude the fact this resort is very overpriced for its offerings... and we have stayed at many, many resorts over the last 12 summers with our family.

Upon arriving, the grounds were not impressive. Lots of dirt driveway area and VERY little lawn. The lawn furniture was entombed in cobwebs and grass clippings...there is no way it could be used without washing. Why wouldn't they hose this stuff down? I had the impression the cabins were on level ground - they're not. They sit high up on a hill (with a dirt path in front of them... no deck, patio, nothing - table off to the side of cabins). Very steep steps bring you to the dock which is so unstable, it clearly is not safe. The dirt path runs directly in front of the window of the cabins, allowing other guests to look right into your cabin.

The furniture was absolutely, positively filthy. NO WAY would anyone sleep
in the sleeper sofa, even though it was included in the bed capacity count. Places to put clothes were next to non-existent. Very limited kitchen pans, etc. - had to go buy fry pans. Clearly, this cabins are past their prime and should NOT be rented out at the premium price they are.

No TV, but you will want one. There is NOTHING to do there. NOTHING. For 2 days the rec center (for the kids) was locked - enough for them doing anything. The VERY expensive boat we rented ($495) wasn't running when we got there, so we got a different one. My husband said the $495 boat was absolute JUNK, so it was no surprise the one they gave us a $20 break was terrible as well. The pontoon? $120 for FOUR HOURS.... and it, too, was WAY past it's prime. We didn't even know if we'd make it back it ran so terribly.

Do not waste your money in the restaurant. While it may be new, the food is nothing short of awful. And don't bother complaining - they won't give you a break on your bill, even if you didn't eat a thing off the plate.

We checked in on a Saturday to Saturday reservation and checked out on Wednesday a.m. The owners didn't even ask WHY we were checking out early. There was no break given on the cabin (which is understandable) nor was there a credit on the boat (not understandable). Another thing to keep in mind: They rent to young kids - we were kept up until almost 3:00 a.m. one night because of the girls (in early 20's) & guys in cabin next door and found beer bottles by our truck's tires in the a.m.

For the price of this resort, it is NOT worth it. The cabin, in reality, should've been priced at half of what it was for the week. Very, very expensive - very, very disappointing. That was our only vacation of the summer and it was truly ruined.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quarterdeck Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarterdeck Resort & Restaurant

Address: 9820 Birch Bay Drive S.W., Cty. Rd. 77, Nisswa, MN 56468
Location: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Quarterdeck Resort And Restaurant
Quarterdeck Resort & Restaurant Hotel Nisswa
Quarterdeck Resort Nisswa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quarterdeck Resort & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.