We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway on Gull

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nisswa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Causeway on Gull
Save
You added Causeway on Gull to your Saves list
8087 Lost Lake Rd, Nisswa, MN 56468   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We spent a week starting on the 8th of July, 2011 and I have to say it was very nice. The staff was exceptional, they went above and beyond to make our stay there enjoyable. Our unit was very clean, quiet and comfortable. All positives. We traded through our Interval International travel group and it was excellent and we'll be going back throughout the year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Had a great time. My sister in law won the trip, so we got to try out a new place for free. Had a great time!
The cabin was very spacious and even included a hot tub, right in the sweet! The kitchen was well equipped and all the common spaces were large with high ceiling and large windows.
We signed up for one of the crafts, and my 6yo really enjoyed decorating a tshirt for her new teddy.
My husband and his sisters rented bikes (for free) and had a fun time with that as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We just got back from a short snowmobiling trip. Checked in on Friday - no problems. The colors were a bit dated but it was roomy, clean, big and met all our needs! Loved the indoor hot tub and the fireplace! :-) The beds were comfy and the showers were awesome! Check out was just as easy as check in. We did not use the pool or the activities center but took a peek and it looked like a fun place to hang out. We were able to sled right out of our unit and right on to the lake! It was getting warm so the trails were getting a little rough but we were still able to ride..no worries there. I would recommend Causeway to anyone! IT ROCKS!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

Causeway on Gull was a very nice resort. Our family of four stayed in one of the Sixplex Units. A two bedroom unit + a one bedroom lower unit, a lockout. It does have it's own grill. It was extremely roomy, we certainly didn't need all the space but it was very nice. We rented a Golf cart for one day - it was fun and useful to get around to the pool and the nearby restaurant. Speaking of restaurants - Zorbaz (adjacent to the property) was quite good, we ate outside looking over the lake, pizza was great and the kids liked hanging out on the sand volleyball court after we ate. Our unit was on a hill above the indoor pool/hot tub/tennis court area. There was a VERY small workout room at the indoor pool and it was in pretty sad shape. The elliptical machine sounded as if you were on board a train. It was a five minute walk to the outdoor pool, where there was plenty of room to hangout and also a nice hot tub. We did go out on one of the free canoes and tried to use the paddle boat, it was pretty hard to steer. We decided to rent a pontoon boat for a 1/2 day (five hours), pricey though, with gas it came to $200. We had a good time, cruised down to the tip of Gull Lake, stopped at a sandbar to swim for a bit. Fished too, but didn't catch anything.

Downtown Nisswa is really nice. Just a five minute drive north on the highway. Lots of nice giftshops, my girls loved The Chocolate Ox - a candy/ice cream store. We also enjoyed the Turtle Races that they have every Wednesday afternoon. You "rent" a turtle for $3 and they race 20 at a time - winner gets a ribbon. It's very popular. We were turtle number 293.

The only major downside was that this resort has no beach area. We did drive to nearly Pelican Lake (about 15 minutes) and it has a VERY shallow large swimming area. You could walk out forever and still only be up to your waist.

Overall a fun, relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

We recently stayed at Causeway on Gull Lake and did not enjoy our stay. My parents booked the week. We were sold on the twin homes, but got a town home. They definitely weren't as nice. With the twin home, they sold the basement as a separate unit and just put a door at the bottom of the hallway. It was really noisy if the other family was in the kitchen or talking.

There is no lake shore/sandy beach for kids to play on. We were really disappointed by this.

We were not impressed with the maintenance of the property. We witnessed a half-brained mother empty her child's dirty diaper all over the pool deck. Then she proceeded to rinse it off over the pool. We reported the problem to the front desk and maintenance crew. We didn't ever see anyone show up at the pool. To our knowledge, the pool was not shut down as is typically required by the state.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountains of Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

We own a time-share at Causeway. The building we own is lovely - two bedrooms, two baths, an indoor hot tub, and more - on each side of the duplex in the woods! We had our sons and their wives, and our grandkids, there and absolutely loved it! There is good eating nearby and Nisswa has a wonderful ice cream parlor.

Maintenance at Causeway is excellent, responsive to all needs, and the front desk people were quite helpful. We all enjoyed the FREE wireless connection in the main lodge, and had a great time out on the lake.

Gull Lake is beautiful, part of a chain of lakes that are especially enjoyable on a pontoon boat. We enjoyed it so much that we're headed back to the area in September to bicycle about 200 miles on the Paul Bunyan and Heartland Trails with about 20 folks from Colorado, the youngest of whom is 60, the oldest 84.

  • Liked — The comfort, quality, and quiet.
  • Disliked — The temperature of the hot tub's water, but that was corrected immediately.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Causeway on Gull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway on Gull

Address: 8087 Lost Lake Rd, Nisswa, MN 56468
Location: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Causeway On Gull Hotel Nisswa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway on Gull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.