We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT Lunch Stop!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Soup

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stone Soup
512 First North St, New Ulm, MN 56073
507-766-4090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 27 restaurants in New Ulm
Restaurant details
Sleepy Eye, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“PERFECT Lunch Stop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Made a quick stop here before heading to a meeting in New Ulm. I grabbed a BLT + Avacado wrap from the cooler and also picked up some salt & vinegar chips, trail mix, and Parier. I regret not getting any soup. I noticed they had 3 or 4 kinds of soup right behind the register that looked good.

The wrap was amazing and I could tell it was made fresh. The deli is VERY small so I just took my lunch and ate it in my car.

The gentleman behind the counter, who I assume is the owner, was very friendly and helpful. There we a few people in line in front of me but I was in and out in maybe 2 minutes.

I love a good soup and sandwich for lunch so I know next time I'm in New Ulm over noon hour I will stop here again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    1
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Soup & Sandwich & a complimentary citrus water to boot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

A bookstore owner recommended STONE SOUP Cafe in downtown New Ulm and three of us took up the advice since the day warranted warmth! The soup was very good and came in sizes to fit all bears. I had a ciabatta sandwich (turkey, bacon & cheese) which was more than enough for two of us. Third member of our party had Chicken Stew over noodles and she enjoyed it. Very casual but "up" from "fast food." Sandwich was made at the time ordered. One of us purchased chicken curry (in a container) with jasmine rice and brought it home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portage wi
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Love these little places with a variety of soups, sandwiches and more. We tried the chicken with wild rice and the a chicken stew on noodles - both were great. And the lemon dream cookie was the perfect ending. And remember to check out the refrigerator case for something to bring home for later. Think you'll appreciate the freshness of this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“If You Love Soup.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A new deli in downtown New Ulm, on 1st North by City Hall. The soup is great, entrees also very good. The sandwiches are only so so as they are prepackaged. Their menu is on line.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Soup also viewed

 

Been to Stone Soup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Soup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.