We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is good; having George there is great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George's Fine Steaks & Spirits

George's Fine Steaks & Spirits
301 N Minnesota St, New Ulm, MN 56073
(507) 354-7440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in New Ulm
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Food is good; having George there is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Upon arrival, we were immediately struck by the fact that George was waiting for us when we walked in and seated us (we had a reservation). That is just awesome. One person in our party had a drink that wasn't mixed right, and George himself brought he new one over and made sure that the new one was good.

The food was good, we did not have the steak, which we regret, but we will have that when we come back next time. I had the 1/2 rack of ribs, which were ok. My wife had the burger, which she didn't care for as it was pretty overcooked. She asked for it well done, but yikes was it ever. Her baked potato was good, though. The other couple had salmon with rice, which they said tasted amazing.

The atmosphere is really neat. It's tight quarters downstairs, but that is not a negative. People would stand up and announce a birthday and the entire restaurant would sing. Really neat.

All in all, we would recommend George's and will return again, but likely try some different menu items.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Ulm, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food was fine, but lacks atmosphere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We recently ate dinner here with a group of 20. The atmosphere in the upstairs is "just a room."
The service was friendly, but the wait time for our meals was long. (We had a choice of 5 items, so they should have been prepared.) I ordered my prime rib medium, and it arrived nearly rare, as did 2 others. We were glad we didn't order rare or it would still have been mooing!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Good Restaurant in New Ulm, MN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had dinner at George's in New Ulm recently. The food was quite good, as was the beer. They offered several beers from the local brewery, Schell's Brewing Co. I had an excellent pasta dish, with very fresh rolls. The owner and the bartender were both very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a late dinner at George's on Saturday the 17th. Food was wonderful and our waitress was great! We sat upstairs at a window. Ambience could be improved on, but the food was great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not terrible but won't go back.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We had fairly decent meals at George's. The steak I had was a bit tough but good flavor. My daughter enjoyed her pasta but couldn't eat the meatballs.
The biggest problem with the place is the atmosphere. Dated, loud and tacky. It's just one of those places that doesn't lure you back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Fine Steaks & Spirits also viewed

 

Been to George's Fine Steaks & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George's Fine Steaks & Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.