We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Veigel's Kaiserhoff

Veigel's Kaiserhoff
221 N Minnesota St, New Ulm, MN 56073-1731
507-359-2071
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 32 Restaurants in New Ulm
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Do not judge a book by its cover. The décor is outdated and could use some updating, but the atmosphere and wait staff was great. I guess I was expecting the place to feel more German , but we went there to eat and the food was Outstanding. I highly recommend the German Sampler. Great flavor and more than you should eat!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    28
    13
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ribs and ice cream drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My family has eaten here since the 1970's and the ribs are our favorite. So is the Rays salad. Save room for the wonderful ice cream drinks.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miinnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Over-hyped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The ribs are great - everything else is like something from a chain restaurant. If your are looking for anything else, look elsewhere. This one keeps showing up in the guidebooks, and it is nothing more than one reviewer relying upon what someone else wrote, going back for decades.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An oldie, and usually, goodie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The "K," as this restaurant has always been known, hasn't changed much over the past 50 years. There are still working table-side juke boxes and the menu is the same, too. (Except for the prices...) We ate there last summer with a German native. He said this restaurant is like the German restaurants of old. We had the German platter. Other favorites, like the Ray's salad and BBQ ribs, are still on the menu from when I was in high school--over 40 years ago! While the decor could use a facelift, there's something to be said for longevity!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ribs, ribs, and more Ribs."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Its a free country, ( the recently deceased owned served in WWII to keep it that way) so you are free to order anything you desire. But, if you are traveling any distance, the only thing you should order is the full slab of ribs, with French fires and vinager base coleslaw and an ice cold draft beer...
The Kaiserhoff German BBQ sauce is unlike anything , anywhere else in America and I only order ribs when I travel. When the plate arrives, eat one rib, and then slather the rest of the ribs and fries with the unique sauce. Take your time. Have another beer. Play an old Dean Martin love song on the juke box that is at your booth. Make certain your companion also orders the full slab so you can look over and ask, , "are you going to eat all of that?" Get an Order to go because you will want more for supper or the next day.


Terry Larkin
Minnetonka,Minnesota
Feb 2,2014

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veigel's Kaiserhoff also viewed

 

Been to Veigel's Kaiserhoff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veigel's Kaiserhoff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.