We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Ribs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Veigel's Kaiserhoff

Veigel's Kaiserhoff
221 N Minnesota St, New Ulm, MN 56073-1731
507-359-2071
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 32 Restaurants in New Ulm
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Montrose, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

My husband and I stopped in on New Year's Eve and while it's not a fancy place, the food was good as well as the service. The ribs are a must-try - the meat just fell of the bones and were some of the best ribs I've ever had. Ray's salad was also tasty and worth trying for something a little different. If you've had a long day and want a satisfying, no-fuss meal, than definitely stop in!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    28
    13
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Top Contributor
476 reviews 476 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
622 helpful votes 622 helpful votes
“Eat the ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We moved to New Ulm in the 1960s and both the menu and the looks of Veigel's Kaiserhoff restaurant have not changed much in those years. As a matter of fact, perhaps you got more for your money a generation ago. Still, if you like ribs you won't find them any better any where else. The Rae's salad is very rich but great too. The German food is not terribly authentic. It's a pity that you can't find real German food in this "German" town. The bar area is somewhat unique because of the murals on the walls and there are some tables where you can eat there too. The K remains an iconic place to dine in New Ulm but much of the food is just average American food so eat the ribs if they aren't too rich for you. We still eat there once or twice a year but it does not seem as special as it once did.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cokato, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice "German" feeling, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Our party of 6 had an adaquate meel. We were told by a couple of local people that Ray's salad was very good, so we had that, along with a brat sandwich with sauerkraut. The salad was very good and very different, definately try it if you go. The sandwich was good, but the sauerkraut was very soft and mushy, very disappointing.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Can't miss ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The menu includes quite a few German meals such as chicken spaeztle, sourkraut balls, a sausage platter, German potato salad, and more. However, the ribs are unbelievably good. They use their own barbeque sauce, Kaiserhoff Sauce. The meat is fall off the bone tender and the portions are generous.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Not to miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I have visited New Ulm and eaten at the Kaiserhoff a handful of times over the past several decades (my dad grew up in a nearby town). It continues to be a highlight of my visits to Brown County. Here you will be served very good traditional German fare. The restaurant is not trendy or fancy. The food is delicious and it will stick to your ribs. It goes beautifully with a Schell (or two -- the sampler plate is bountiful). If you enjoy wonderful, hearty food like "Oma" used to make, then you must not miss dining at the Kaiserhoff.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veigel's Kaiserhoff also viewed

 

Been to Veigel's Kaiserhoff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veigel's Kaiserhoff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.