We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Clock!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glockenspiel

Glockenspiel
N 4th Street & Minnesota Street, New Ulm, MN
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 18 Attractions in New Ulm
Type: Other, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 45-foot, free-standing, musical clock is one of a rare breed.
Riverside, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Clock!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

At selected time intervals, a door opens up and animated figures which reflect on the various stages of New Ulm history, perform on a rotating stage, as music is played. Real neat.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Second time seeing this its very neat. Love to watch how the figures move around and the music plays. A must see while in New Ulm

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I Love to Go A-Wandering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I had read in the tour guide to New Ulm about the Glockenspiel and I just happened to be downtown 15 minutes before one of its scheduled performances, which take place at noon, 3:00, and 5:00. I took my camera and tripod and got into place on one of the park benches in front of it. About 20 other people had gathered by the time it was to begin. Suddenly, a door halfway up the tower opened to reveal the life-sized characters on a platen. As the music began ("I Love to Go A-Wandering"), the characters revolved slowly, allowing many photo opportunities. The characters represent the history of New Ulm. Those I remember seeing were a beer drinker, two dancers, a brick maker, a farmer, a family, and an Indian. There is a sign nearby which explains the role each character played in the history.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great sound!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We made sure we got to the site at noon to hear the music from the carillion. It was very much worth it and it's good that it plays at other times of the day, too, in case one couldn't be there at noon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loud chimes and good history.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This was not as exciting as hoped, but we are glad we stopped. The chimes went on for a lot longer than expected. That was good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glockenspiel also viewed

 

Been to Glockenspiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glockenspiel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.