We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pearler!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaumaris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surfside Motor Inn
Save
You added Surfside Motor Inn to your Saves list
269 Tasman Highway, Beaumaris, Tasmania 7215, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaumaris
Launceston, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a pearler!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

What a perfect spot for long beach walks, magnificent meals and the pizza is to die for! The hosts even offered to deliver our meal because we had such a long day sightseeing. The bed was so comfortable, had a fantastic nights sleep with the sound of the sea singing us to sleep. We had an enjoyable 3 night stay. Bargain price. I read the reviews before booking our accommodation and I really didn't know what to expect.
I am so glad I stayed there. The staff are very friendly and cater to your every need. :)
I will be back !!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    5
    1
    9
See reviews for
5
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

On arrival at the surfside i was suprised at the friendly and hospitable reception we was given, for the duration of our stay the manager made sure we had what we needed for a comfortable stay , so many businesses make you feel unwelcome these days, espicially when you are a young family.. the rooms were not flashy but i did not expect them to be for the good price i was paying, that is not to say they were not comfortable, i had one of the best nights sleep, listening to the waves crash apon the sand (a luxury you go with out when living in the city).. we enjoyed our meals on the deck on the clear days watching the monstrous waves roll in.. A cosy affordable motor inn in one of the most beautiful parts of tasmania, my family and i will definitly be making the trip back.. it saddens me to see some of the comments other people have made.. do not miss this wonderful expierence and please donot judge a book by its over, it will be your loss..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

When we saw the outside we would have kept going but we'd pre- booked the D,B&B package and paid deposit, on refelection we should have sacrificed the deposit. Thankfully we were only there one night. The room was very basic and poorly lit. One bedside light was very unsafe so we opted not to use it. The bathroom was unbelievable, wires from the ceiling, no plug, no mirror & no towels although I did manage to find the owner and get some towels. The shower and walls of the bathroom were not properly sealed and it definitely looked still under construction, although one gets the feeling it always looks like this. Not sure it would pass insepection on safety or cleanliness. Owners are friendly and food was good and portions generous. Either stay in St Helens or push on a bit further there are much better looking opions.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunbury,vic
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

We stayed for one night on our way back to the ferry ,if we were staying in the area we would have been happy to stay longer.We were invited to inspect available rooms prior to booking in and the 3 rooms looked fine ,obviously they had been renovated,but you cant change the fact that this is an old style motel.We ate in the bistro ,which is an extension of the bar and the food was good value ,and the staff/owners very friendly,The bottom line is dont expect a5star hotel for budget motel prices,for that what this is a budget motel

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

A caravan shower block has more charm than this place, so got back in car and kept going. Owners are trying hard to make a go of motel that should have been bulldozed.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

Apparently under perpetual renovation, Surfside's $99 nightly fee is not worth the condition each room presents...unless you prefer water that stains, wires hanging from unfinished ceilings, no doors on small shower, and the "feel" of mid-century motels.
Please push on ten minutes to St Helens or stay an extra night in Bicheno. If you must stay here, inspect rooms before removing things from your vehicle...you may want to depart quickly!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

This is a disgustingly unsafe place... Especially for young families. In our room, although one of the better ones , had some seriously bad and unsafe DIY work done to it! The external plumbing running along the front door step was a hit but nothing can beat the exposed live wires coming through the bathroom wall. At the time I was there there was another carpenter who shared the same light on his room! We were in disbelief!!!! This was only the start!!!! Do not stay here

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Motor Inn

Address: 269 Tasman Highway, Beaumaris, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaumaris
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.