We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Virginia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Virginia to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Virginia
5480 Mountain Iron Drive, Mountain Iron, MN 55792   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mountain Iron
Owatonna
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Homey and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was impressed the minute I stepped into Virginia's AmericInn. The lobby decoration reflects the area and felt cozy. The staff is friendly and helpful, as they are in all AmericInns. Two improvements on other AmericInns we've stayed at -- and it is our chain of choice -- a bar serving beer and wine coolers and a couple of hot options for breakfast every morning. The microwave and refrigerator were very handy. The location is a great headquarters for traveling the area. Ely and Duluth are only about an hour away; Hibbing and Chisholm and Eveleth only half an hour. There were a lot of trains running on the weekend, but hardly any on the weekdays we were there. We found them charming and were not disturbed by them while sleeping, but the hotel provides ear plugs, just in case.

Room Tip: We had a room right across from the ice machine -- won't make that mistake again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    23
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
34
17
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We found it necessary to travel to Virginia, Minnesota, and needed a place to stay that we could stay with our dogs. Found Americinn to be just that. We felt very welcome with our 2 large dogs. They have a respectible area for the dogs to do their "business". The rooms are comfortable and very clean. Everything made us happy that we chose Americinn.

Room Tip: Pet friendly room on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Room was clean and large with big refrigerator and microwave. It's located right across the street from restaurants and stores, down the street from Target. Nice sized pool and free access to nearby fitness gym. Liz on front desk that evening was very friendly, very helpful and knowledgeable. When I reported housekeeping oversights to the day manager (who was working the desk) she was most apologetic. The coffeepot hadn't been cleaned from previous guest and one of the two flourescent lightbulbs over the bathroom sink was seriously fading out (a person could barely see with just the one bulb -- how could housekeeping miss that?). My room was in the back across the street from the tracks and the freight trains are fast and they are LOUD. AmericInn provides ear plugs but I find them uncomfortable. I have the expectation of a good night's sleep at a hotel and when the Midnight Special runs past my window every 2-3 hours, that's not something I anticipate having to "understand."

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front because if it's in the back you're getting the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This AmericInn is another testimony to a small hotel chain that gets it right everytime. If you are not familiar with AmericInn, one of its standouts is its cinderbox walls and thus "quiet" rooms which is VERY TRUE!. Each AmericInn has its own flavor and this one in Virginia/Mountain Iron, Minnesota once a nice place to come to after work. The beautiful woodwork, the in-house bar/snack restaurant, the friendly staff, the delicious (hot/cold) breakfast and the overall quality of the rooms was nice. Plus, the hotel is situated around many restaurants and shops for a variety of places to eat and sight seeing is less than a 1/2 mile away at the top of the mountains.

I liked the AmericInn and will look forward to my next visit to MN with a stay at the AmericInn.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice and they do have smoking rooms available, but because of the cinderbox str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

my wife and I had a birthday party to attend in Virginia Mn ,19th /may we also needed a place to stay for the evening. We seen an AmericInn just off the highway .upon entering the lobby we were greeted with a smile from a very friendly young lady I wish I could have gotten her name as she is a great asset to her company the room was one of the cleanest we have had the pleasure to have stayed at (A great job well done) Wayne W Waller Saginaw MN

Room Tip: If you need a place to staywhile in Virgina Mn I highly recommend the Americ INN A great place to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We enjoyed on of the suites and it was great; from using the hot tube to lighting up the fire place.
Bed was very comfortable. Room was very clean. TV's worked. Although limited, there is a neat little bar inside the motel. The pool area should be taken advantage of. Most enjoyable people staffing motel. Breakfast like most other of motels, but hope they do not get rid of the sausage gravy and biscuits. They could also use larger towels for the hot tbs in the rooms. But the place is well worth staying at.

Room Tip: Get a Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night while on a business trip and had a very comfortable, pleasant stay. We were a little concerned by its close proximity to the freeway and rail yard but found we had no issues with noise. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable with good quality linens. The staff was friendly and the woman at the front desk was very helpful in recommending restaurants and answering our questions about the area.We appreciated the clean breakfast area that offered some nice choices, especially the do it yourself waffle maker and fresh fruit. We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Virginia

Address: 5480 Mountain Iron Drive, Mountain Iron, MN 55792
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mountain Iron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mountain Iron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AmericInn Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Virginia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.