We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Atmosphere, But Very Loud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Moorhead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Moorhead to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Moorhead
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1080 28th Ave S, Moorhead, MN 56560   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Moorhead
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, But Very Loud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel was overall pretty good. Check-in is at 3:00pm, and when we arrived at 3:20pm our room was still not ready. After driving for 4 hours we were told to go find something to do and it will be ready in about 30 minutes. That didn't make to a very good start to our trip.

The employees were very friendly, and the rooms were very nice. Neat layout, and different then every other hotel. The decor and atmosphere of the hotel was very modern and fun. The hotel rooms were very clean which was nice.

We decided to stay here as a "couples" getaway, not knowing that there would be 2 birthday parties and a hockey tournament on. Well.............. The pool was packed, and when we went early the next morning for a quick swim (before all the kids got up) at about 7:30am, the water was all murky, and there were band-aids in the pools and on the floor, and there were towels scattered everywhere. (But no one in sight, so probably all from the night before.) So that really grossed us out....

We got put in a room right next to one of the staircases. Well, thats all that you hear. There were kids running up and down the stairs alllll niiiiight loooong. And the room above us, sounded like there were elephants jumping around. But, they were kids, and most kids these days don't listen so that is all that we listened to. So we didn't get much sleep.

Over all, very nice decor, very nice rooms, very friendly staff, loud hotel and a pool that never gets cleaned. I would stay again, if I couldn't find a different place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room no where near stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Moorhead, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi Andie 1316,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are always so thankful when we have guests who share their experience and we have an opportunity to learn, grow and become better.

Please be assured that any issues that our brought to our attention are immediately addressed with all teammates. Your feedback will only help us improve the quality of our hotel.

If there is anything in particular you would like to discuss, please feel free to reach out to me at any time. My direct line is 218-284-5021.

Thanks,

Barry Kuhnke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    33
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
22
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colton, South Dakota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel is easy to find, easy access to the interstate. We have stayed here twice in the last month. Had a hot tub king suite the first stay, king suite this stay. Stayed two nights both times. Very comfortable beds. Pool area is clean, hot tub very warm, families were making use of the pool area. The staff is friendly and willing to help with directions or recommendations. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a king room, no hot tub suite this stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Moorhead, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi Rose M!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I’m so happy to know that you have had a nice stay each time, and we are looking forward to having you again.

Barry Kuhnke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is easy to find and easy to access. It is a little ways from shopping and dowtown Fargo but otherwise it is a good place to stay. It was clean and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast was quite good in the morning and they do serve Starbucks coffee but there is a real Starbucks very close by. The equipment in the fitness room was new and in excellent condition. The only down part was you could hear people moving around in the floor above quite clearly.

Room Tip: I would pick a third floor room to cut down on the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry K, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Moorhead, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi Tami1815,

Thanks so much of your review and comments about the hotel. The team takes great pride in their cleanliness and guest service scores. In fact, our hotel is currently ranked #1 for the Courtyard by Marriott brand for being warm and hospitable. I'm glad you experienced this. Also, the Bistro and Starbuck's program has been a great addition to our renovated hotel. Guests seem to love it!

Thanks so much for your review. We love any and all feedback about our hotel. Any feedback that will allow us to improve is also very much appreciated. Thanks again!

Barry Kuhnke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here December 2012 and we enjoyed it thoroughly! We had a king suite (an adjoining room to my Sister and her hubby next door - the hotel was very nice to work to make this happen!)

The bed was very comfortable, all 3 nights. The hotel is modern and very clean.

We have a 6 yr. old who absolutely loved the pool area! There are 2 pools, one for babies/toddlers, with little slides, and a regular pool 3 ft - 5 ft. Beach balls provided in abundance! A definate must for families, highly recommended! I myself enjoyed it as well, the pool was very comfortable to step into, not cold at all! They even have an event room next to the pool, if you had a big gathering it would be the perfect pool-party! Full exercise room available also.

Big bonus for me was the Starbucks and bistro in the hotel! There is even a Nintento Wii and board games in the lobby to use.

Proximity to West Acres Mall is very managable, 5 - 10 minutes drive.

There was a disruptive event outside in the parking lot on our first night @ 2 a.m., but this was the result of other guests, not the hotel's fault in any way. It was handled immediately by the night staff, and they even made up for it by giving us the night as complimentary. They handled the situation very well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry K, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Moorhead, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello JazF,

Thank you so much for your review. I'm very happy we were able to enjoy the amenities we offer such as Starbucks, Nintendo Wii, board games and pools.

I'd also like to apologize for the disruptive event that happened outside the first night of your stay. Thank you for bringing it to our attention while you were here so we were able to offer you the 100% satisfaction guarantee for the inconvenience.

I hope you stay with us the next time you return to Fargo-Moorhead.

Barry Kuhnke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at this Courtyard while visiting a family member in the hospital. Such a welcoming place to come back to each night! Our room, and alll areas of the hotel, was clean, nicely decorated and very inviting. The staff was very friendly & helpful. We enjoyed The Bistro for morning breakfasts & evening pizzas. The lounge sitting area was a favorite of ours for relaxing and watching TV. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry K, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Moorhead, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hello Pam A,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and comments about our hotel. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your time with us. I will also be sure to pass this review along to the staff and management team. They love hearing such great reviews!

I also hope that your family member is feeling better!

Sincerely,

Courtyard by Marriott Fargo-Moorhead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Overall a nice hotel with a friendly staff, but soundproofing between floors is terrible. I'm not a light sleeper, but was repeatedly woken up by my upstairs neighbor's heavy walking. Not even ear plugs or a pillow over the head could drown it out!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fridley, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here now at least three times this past year while visiting family in Fargo and we are never disappointed! The staff is wonderful, kind and helpful. The rooms clean and spacious! The pool area is a favorite for my children! We just love this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Moorhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Moorhead

Address: 1080 28th Ave S, Moorhead, MN 56560
Location: United States > Minnesota > Moorhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Moorhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Moorhead 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Moorhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Moorhead Hotel Moorhead
Courtyard Moorhead
Moorhead Courtyard
Moorhead Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Moorhead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.