We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riverwood Inn and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riverwood Inn and Conference Center to your Saves list
Riverwood Inn and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   10990 95th Street N.E., Monticello, MN 55362   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Monticello B&B and Inns
Lakeville, Minnesota, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not happy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed her for a one night getaway on a crowd-cut voucher and although the staff was very nice and polite, we were NOT happy about being in a completely separate building from the swimming pool. This was one of the main reasons for our getaway. We were not able to use the pool because it was winter and we would have had to walk outside between the two buildings to get to the pool. Not ok. The beds were horrible. We both had backaches by morning. The cable TV had very few stations. We definitely would not stay her again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, General Manager at Riverwood Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate it. We do have changing rooms in the pool area but it is inconvenient sometimes to have go outside during the winter. I apologize and hope we have a chance to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    13
    12
    22
See reviews for
26
27
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

my daughter's wedding was held here. we stayed 2 nights. have been here for brunch and dinner thru the planning. the wedding was beautiful. at one point they locked the restrooms, but once discovered, they reopened them. but the real down side of this place is the management, we were told to book 2 weeks early. i did and was told rate of $89. i saw on their website if you booked a week in advance rooms were $69. tried to call, answering machine, left message, no call back, booked on line room with 2 beds. day before wedding email confirmed 1 bed, got 2 when i registered. room was tiny, dark, burned out lightbulbs, tv remote didn't work, tv only got 3 channels, no ice or vending machines, toilet ran which was really bad because the water stunk. but the worst was NO ONE who booked rooms was informed of the lower price for booking early. i realise they are in business to make money, but deliberately not telling the customer of an advantage to save money will cause you more ill and make it harder for people to tolerate the short comings of this hotel. i told everyone who stayed. bet the front desk had alot of fun on sunday morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Riverwood Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is always good to hear positive things about the property and staff. I am glad to hear the wedding went good. We do have ice and vending machines on the property, we should have done a better job directing you to them. Rates do change based on availability. I will share your comments with our staff to insure they check better for expired light bulbs.

Thank You Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My daughter and I only spent an overnight here and did not arrive until 10 pm. We had read some of the reviews and were not too excited about what we might find. Upon entering the lobby, I found it to be very inviting, warm and nicely decorated. The girl at the desk was very pleasant and helpful. When we entered our room, we were really surprised. It was a "country" decorated room, very clean, and looked to have been recently updated. Nothing here to complain about. When sitting on the beds, we thought oh, oh, very firm, but we both slept very well. The only negative was running the water in the morning to wash up. It was a very heavy sulfur smell, and we declined to shower and used the bottled water provided in the rooms to brush our teeth. I believe they have well water, and I don't know if there are remedies for that problem. The continental breakfast offered in the morning was just that. Apples, donuts, and boxes of cereal. They did have a restaurant on the grounds just across from the lobby that was open in the morning should something more be desired. The grounds were lovely. It was rather welcoming to smell an outdoor fire in the firepit when we arrived. A lot of amenities for an inexpensive price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Riverwood Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
I am so glad to hear that you and your daughter had a great visit. We do appreciate your feedback and hope you can return soon.

Thanks, Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendricks, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Absolutely fabulous. Gorgeous gardens, paths, and pool house. The room was clean and warm. The check in area very classy. I loved the paths, pool house, and fire pits. This would be a great place for a wedding, business training, or family reunion.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Riverwood Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
We really appreciate your comments. Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks, Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I'd read bad reviews for this place so I was a little bit leary about staying there, but we had a wonderful time. It is a perfect place for weddings and receptions where guests can stay without driving time afterwards. The location is absolutely beautiful and the hotel was nice. Front desk staff were professional and courteous and quick. I loved the outdoor firepit with apple cider and smore's! I'd go back and recommend people to book weddings there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Riverwood Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
We appreciate your kind feedback. I hope you come back again soon.

Thanks, Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The room was nice, lack of TV stations but no big deal because we were not in the room much. Staff was friendly and helpful. Nice setting on the river. Timothy's was very cozy and the waitstaff was very polite. The food was good but but not excellent as the price might indicate.The pool and hot tub were very nice. We will return again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Riverwood Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel was a very nice change compared to staying in the city. It was not too far out from a newer, very nice section of Albertville, but it was nice, quiet, and secluded. The grounds were definitely the best part! What other hotel has goats, fire pits, and a trail down to the Mississippi River? I do agree that the hotel itself could use some improvements... the mattresses were a little sunken, the shower head left much to be desired, the water smelled like sulfur, and there were no elevators (if you don't do well with stairs), but the staff was very friendly, and it was an extremely relaxing environment. We had brunch at the restaurant there, and it was great food for a great price! I highly recommend this hotel! I thoroughly enjoyed my time here, and I will definitely return if I'm ever in the area again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level seemed cooler, quieter, and darker. Better sleeping if you're like me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed M, Manager at Riverwood Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your review! I think that we are a hidden gem. We are always working on improving the property and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverwood Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwood Inn and Conference Center

Address: 10990 95th Street N.E., Monticello, MN 55362
Location: United States > Minnesota > Monticello
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverwood Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riverwood Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverwood Inn and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.