We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving Nite 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Chelsea Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Chelsea Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Chelsea Inn & Suites
89 Chelsea Road, Monticello, MN 55362-8912   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Emo, Ontario Canada
1 review
“Thanksgiving Nite 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had reservations, but mistakenly made it for the following night. The front desk clerk was very polite and fortunately was able to accomodate us. The weather was very bad that night plus it was Thankgiving night. Also the hotel provided shuttle service to the Albertville outlet mall that night and into the morning for the Black Friday Sales. I took advantage of that offer. It was a very short but comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    26
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
21
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, MB
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This Hotel is part of the Best Western Chain and for the price per night they could do better. The toliet in our room was noisy it made a filling hissing noise every 5 minutes. To stop it I turned the water supply off. I mentioned this to the front desk and they were most understanding and offered a different room but it was late evening and we did not notice it till we were all moved in so we declined the offer to move to another room. The towel rack above the toliet in the bathroom had been pulled out of the wall on one end and should have been reported by housekeeping and repaired before the room was booked again. This Hotel has great location as it is close to the big outlet mall at Albertville. The breakfast area is well appointed and the breakfast offered is very good eggs , sausauge rounds , cereal, biscuits& gravy and fruit. One of the things I did not like with the room was a lounge chair to use with the table making in not very comfortable to use a computer. Most hotels of this level have a office type chair to use with the table. A fridge and microwave would also be a good additon to the room. The staff at the hotel were very cheerful and helpful. The soup that was available in the eveing was a nice touch after a long drive and Michael at the front desk was most helpful and cheerful. I wish more hotels had front desk staff with his attitude and helpfullness. Everything considered I would stay at this location again.

Room Tip: This hotel has 3 floors there is an elevator but main floor room makes check and check out easier
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I've stayed at about 10 hotels in the last month so I've a lot to compare to. I've usually been paying about $ 80.00 plus taxes, sometimes more sometimes less. So I have a valid base with which to compare the value. This property didn't meet the value equation. There was nothing wrong here but the pricepoint they are asking requires a mini fridge /microwave that doesn't exist for all rooms and an office chair that doesn't exist. It's really hard keyboarding from a low lounge chair. At this pricepoint it's really hard to believe that there is no fan in the bathroom. No real problems, just stuff that;s missing

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseainnmn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chelsea Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We value all of our customer feedback and try our best to use the information to enhance all of our guest experiences. I am sorry to hear you were not pleased with our central bath exhaust system. While you do not hear a fan running it operates on a central rooftop exhaust system and we will check to make certain that is still operating as a result of your comments. While this does not help you on your past visit the next time you have an opportunity to stay with us you will able to enjoy our new 37” flat panel televisions and bed sets which we are installing in the next four weeks. Thank you again for taking the time and I hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our fourth Best Western to stay in since September. The first was the best of those first three, but this one I would never have known it was a BW if I hadn't made the reservation. Reminded me more of another chain. Maybe that's what the "chelsea inn & suites" means? Same price as the third BW we had stayed in a few weeks ago which was a 1960s bldg being remodeled slowly. We were only here one night for our travels through the area.

Luggage carts inside doorway, front desk VERY helpful (Michael) and knowledgeable, staircase and elevator to second floor. There was soup in a crock pot for arrivals. Very nice!

Couch, fireplace in lobby area. Room was two beds, refrigerator, microwave, and it was beautiful looking, I didn't take pictures since my phone had died, but it was a very standard room and the photos online would be acceptable as to what the room looked like. Comfortable beds with lots of pillows to choose from :-)

Bathroom had a large vanity/counter space area. Plenty of towels.

We had an early departure and browsed the breakfast area. Well designed, scrambled eggs, yogurt, cold cereal. INterestingly, and quite good for us in a rush, there were individually wrapped (maybe in sandwich bags) bread, waffles, muffins, etc for ease and quite presentable.

As a gluten free eater, the eggs and bananas/apples were good to go, along with the ready to go coffee cups and hot water.

Room Tip: A room away from the lobby/atrium would probably be good. We were down the hall about eight doors an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseainnmn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chelsea Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and being a loyal Best Western Guest. We are so glad you enjoyed the soup and our breakfast and that you all found something that met your needs. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We spent 1 night here while we were travelling through the area. The front desk were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean, and quiet at night. The hotels location is very convient to the interstate and shopping, and just a short drive to the twin cities. The breakfast buffet was great, it had something for everybody. This hotel is a great place to stay, and we will be staying there again the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelseainnmn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chelsea Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINNIPEG
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Spending 2 nights was totally pleasurable, from check-in to check-out. Our 2 suites were comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent...so superior to hotel coffee shops...in particular, we appreciated the top-notch quality of the multi-grain bread...so difficult to find in any restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We arrived about 9pm and were able to get a room, which was actually a suite. Could not find fault with this facility: beds and couch were comfortable; plenty of towels and pillows; fridge and microwave worked. Even though we were right across the hall from the elevators, there was no problem with noise from that. I loved the fact that they actually encourage guests to recycle by having separate recycle and trash bins. I would definitely stay here again when in the Twin Cities area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Chelsea Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Chelsea Inn & Suites

Address: 89 Chelsea Road, Monticello, MN 55362-8912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Monticello
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Chelsea Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chelsea Inn And Suites
Best Western Chelsea Hotel Monticello
Best Western Monticello
Monticello Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Chelsea Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.