We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the staff?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Monticello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Monticello to your Saves list
Days Inn Monticello
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 E Oakwood Drive, Monticello, MN 55362   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Where's the staff?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a small, family run motel. When you check in, you have to use the phone to get someone to the front desk, after that, I didn't see them at all. They slip your bill under the door in the middle of the night, which had a cloak-and-dagger feel to it! The room was quiet and comfortable. We heard no freeway noise, even though we were very close to the I-94. The breakfast was very poor. Just cereals and some pastries, and the coffee was lukewarm. We ended up going to the MacDonald's on the same street. There was no one in the front desk by the breakfast room, and there was still no one there when we left. Where was everybody?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    15
    16
    22
See reviews for
30
9
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Check in Process is very quick, the girl at the front was polite, helpful and attentive. we were very early and they found us a room which allowed me to get to my conference and allow my family to relax early. The rooms were nice and clean with Flat Panel TV with lots of options on TV channel , HBO and with great amenities like a small fridge and microwave. The beds were comfortable. I could not hear anyone in the halls. I couldn't even hear my children in our room while I was walking down the hall. I never heard footsteps from the room above. The shower and internet connectivity (two critical components in a happy stay) were both fantastic; and breakfast was perfect. It was also the perfect location, close to Twin Cities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I don't think I would stay here again because our room wasn't clean, we could barely see the picture on the tv because the tv was really old! Our hair dryer and plug in didn't work. Not really happy with the overall experience but at least we got to have our dog with us! Alot of hotels don't allow pets so that is on reason we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I think the hotel's walls are made of paper! every single move of next rooms can be heard. The claimed breakfast was just some toasts and butter and cereal and coffee was just a dark water! Very poor. Nobody at the front desk to help you with anything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monticello

Address: 200 E Oakwood Drive, Monticello, MN 55362
Location: United States > Minnesota > Monticello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monticello 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monticello Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Monticello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.