We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating Staff, Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12201 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Minnetonka
New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Accommodating Staff, Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a one night business stay in the area. Front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating for a few special needs requests. The room was clean and spacious but could use some updating of the bathroom cabinetry....not a deal breaker. The bed was very comfortable. Had breakfast downstairs where the service and food were above average. Overall an excellent value for the price. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CheckingIn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and point out some of the changes to our hotel since your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Usa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place has lovely rooms, great pool, jacuzzi and workout room, located next to a big shopping mall. Great club room worth the upgrade. Beds are very comfortable. Staff was courteous and helpful. Big breakfast buffet in open area dining room.

Room Tip: it is worth it to get an upgrade to the club room for private computer use and television, snacks an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revgmb4689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Manager at Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We are glad your stay went well. We hope we will see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberts, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very fun to stay and swim just to take a break from the cold! I used my Starwood points and found it very hard to believe that within Starwood, this hotel is rated a 2. The check-in was quick and efficient, our room was ready upon arrival, but most importantly, CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN! The entire hotel is beautifully decorated and the pool and whirlpool area is just the right size and water is just the right temp!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaceyWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We are able to use your feedback to monitor our performance for all our future guests. We hope we will see you back soon!

Neil Russell
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights over the holiday period while visiting friends and family. Staff were very friendly, the rooms were spacious and comfortable and the hotel itself was clean and very quiet. The breakfast buffet was plentiful, with a good variety of food on offer. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcjrdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are working hard here at the Sheraton to make our property the best in the area. Thanks for the recommendation. Next time you're visiting the area, we hope you'll stay with us!

Neil Russell
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have stayed here in the past and had a good experience. We stayed here during the recent Christmas holidays and again had a very good experience. We are Starwood Gold and received a free upgrade to the club floor at check in, which was a nice surprise when we arrived late on Christmas. The hotel is clean, was very quiet and the rooms are very spacious, especially the bathroom, which had ample counter space. The club lounge wasn't open over the holidays for food but it was very nice with a latte machine available 24 hours a day that made the cold Minneapolis mornings easier to take. Overall we enjoyed our stay and had no issues. The location is great, right off the highway and across from the mall. There were multiple options for meals very close to the hotel. We will be staying here again next time we are in Minneapolis!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sb7764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks so much for the terrific recommendation! I am sorry the club lounge was closed during your stay. We have made changes and no longer close our club even during slow times. Please visit us again and print this review and we will upgrade you to our club level complementary.

Neil Russell
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here for a football game. While its not close to the stadium...there were plenty on places to eat and shop all around! The staff was extremely friendly and the rooms were quite large and very comfortable! I would for sure stay here again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dougers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, KS
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a recent conference and really found it a pleasant surprise. When I had some confusion making my reservation about the corporate rate the staff was incredibly helpful and apologetic for what appeared to be a mutual misunderstanding.

When I arrived I like the fact they had a cool refreshing water urn--airplanes are quite dry. The front desk staff remembered the slight problem I had an upgraded me to their version of the concierge level. Very nice. Even without this club level access, I'm sure my stay would have been just an enjoyable (can you say that when you are attending a conference?) without that club access.

The design of the hotel was focused around a large atrium which made the place seen less boxy and just more open. Those long empty halls of the typical hotel can be exhausting so this was a welcome surprise. To be fair, I don't usually stay at Sheratons so I don't know how typical this is of their average design.

I did not partake of any of the in house dining options, save for the light appetizers and snacks in the Club level room. I loved the fact they had a do it yourself espresso machine so I could make myself a quad shot latte late at night as I prepared my remarks for the conference. Nearby and within walking distance were dozens of options but beware the mosquitoes in the summer there.

One of the really nice options I liked was the ability to decline housekeeping services in exchange for additional loyalty points or a $5.00 voucher to use in the bar. Smart way of rewarding environmentalism and saving money. I never make my bed at home and I was only staying for two nights so I decided I could leave my room messy.

The wifi was actually quite good in spite of a somewhat full hotel and the workout facility was exceptionally good for a hotel. A nice selection of cardio, universal and free weights.

My only complaint--no complimentary Wall Street Journal. Typically at a business hotel that's to be expected. USA Today is pretty much a staple at any hotel but at the concierge level I was kinda disappointed. Oh well!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveg66044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minnetonka
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis / West-Minnetonka
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka
1.3 mi away
Minneapolis Marriott West
Minneapolis Marriott West
#3 of 6 in Saint Louis Park
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Minneapolis - St Louis Park at West End
Homewood Suites Minneapolis - St...
#1 of 6 in Saint Louis Park
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel

Address: 12201 Ridgedale Drive, Minnetonka, MN 55305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minnetonka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Minnetonka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just outside of downtown Minneapolis, the Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel is a source of familiar comfort, and has 5700 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Starwood, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Minnetonka
Minnetonka Sheraton
Sheraton Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing