We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's BBQ Shack

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Famous Dave's BBQ Shack
14601 W. Hwy. 7, Minnetonka, MN 55345
612-933-9600
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 77 Restaurants in Minnetonka
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hearty lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our family of four lunched here during our recent stay in Plymouth/Maple Grove. We normally like to try more local restaurants but with the kids along a chain is sometimes a good idea. The food was tasty and the portions were generous. The kids menu options are very good. The service was excellent. It is a very busy location so if you are going at prime time you are probably going to wait. We were lunching at 2:00 pm and still waited about 10 minutes.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wow is this place loud!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Another option for food close to home.

The ribs are too saucy for everyone in our household -- we prefer the dry ribs, but that is not what is Famous Dave's specialty so you get what you get. There are additional menu options, but of course ribs are the business.

This particular restaurant is really, really LOUD. It was next to impossible to talk with people at the table and after we all were a little hoarse. Good luck taking anyone that is not really mobile and needing them to navigate through the tables and people -- that was a challenge, not impossible, but certainly not simple.

I do not see the value for the money, but I love to cook and make ribs for the family so I know what it takes from my side. If you don't cook and you like ribs it is probably worth a try.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
454 reviews 454 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“It's Like Dining at Home”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

A good atmosphere with casual flair. The BBQ pulled chicken salad is out of the ordinary and is sufficient as a meal in itself. The staples of Famous Dave's are consistent in taste and the service attentive.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Great Ribs! Yep, I'm going back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

Great Ribs! Yep, I'm going back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good rib joint”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

Good rib joint

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's BBQ Shack also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's BBQ Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's BBQ Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.