We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ivy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ivy to your Saves list
Hotel Ivy
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 South Eleventh Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Madison WI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good value for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife suggested we book a nice hotel for a weekend getaway to MSP. Sure, I thought, it'll be a nice change from bargain-basement motel sixes and all that.

I got myself a deal on the Ivy and I was pretty glad I did.

Despite arriving at the peak of rush hour, the valets tended to our car with nearly ridiculous promptness, out checkin process was quick, and our room was spotless. The bathroom was enormous and well-appointed. The bed was comfy. And while tall, the hotel is fairly narrow so it's not a warren of selfsame rooms on every floor.

It's also affixed to the Minneapolis Skyway so it's pretty easy to navigate downtown without ever leaving the indoors. While, granted, we didn't spend a ton of time downtown, it was still nice to have access to nearby stuff without braving the Minneapolitan November.

We even ordered room service at one point (we'd had a large late lunch, and everything downtown was basically shuttered by the time we were hungry again). It was decent, and...well, it was expensive, but compared to room service elsewhere it wasn't awful. It was quick, too. It wasn't spectacular food, but...again, it's room service.

Nice place to stay. A bit spendy, but if you can get a deal, it's pretty great for a romantic weekend sort of thing.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
22
Solo
0
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had heard that Hotel Ivy boasts one of the best spas, well anywhere. I wasn't able to take advantage of the spa while there, but the rooms certainly felt like I was at a spa hotel. After a long flight and some frigid temperatures, the Ivy was an oasis with the plush room, incredible bathroom and cozy robe. The welcome cupcake was a nice touch as well! If I am back in Minneapolis for some reason, this will be the first place I look for reservations.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you so much for your recent stay at the Hotel ivy Minneapolis and thank you for the accolades as well. I am happy that you enjoyed our rooms and hotel amenities. I hope to see you again in the very near future!

Best regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lobby is quiet, the best check-in I have ever experienced. We stayed on a Friday night. Use the valet for first class service. Parking was not easy for us. We paid $20 one block away. We also did zero research.

Turn down service without a request made our day, linens were perfect. Towels were soft, tub/shower perfect. Lots of nice touches. Make up mirror makes a great night light.

The room layout is new and is very private, feels like two rooms. We didn't use the mini fridge but might have. (Welcome management to contact me).

Room was clean, really clean. Carpet in our room needs stretching .

The personal touches will make me come back.


Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Bob M,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Ivy Minneapolis and thank you for the accolades on our products and services as well! I will be sure to share your comments with my entire team and I hope to see you again soon. The carpet issue will be taken care of as we will undergo a complete renovation this winter.

Best regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This beautiful hotel offered exceptional service, clean & comfortable rooms (loved the spacious bathrooms!) & was the perfect location for our girls' night! A few friends received spa services during our stay & all said their experiences were relaxing & well worth it! A plus was that we were in walking distance of all the places we planned to go out! && I got the best night's rest I've had in quite some time!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Alexis l,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at the Hotel Ivy Minneapolis and thank you for the accolades as well. I am happy that you and your girlfriends had a great weekend! I will be sure to share your comments with my entire team. I do hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our 3 nights at the Hotel Ivy.
The SPA is nice. The whirlpool and sauna area is small, so when more then 4 people start to enter the public spa area, it gets uncomfortably tight. We didn't do any of the numerous services offered by the spa. The ROOM is cozy and comfortable. We loved the bathtub. We loved the bed. And, the room is very quiet. We never heard any noises from the hallway.
I realized after our first night, that the hotel is situated a few blocks from the main downtown area. It was a cold walk to get to the other pubs and restaurants in the downtown area. And, the light rail was too far to walk in the cold. The valet is excellent and I liked that we could take the car as needed. They were very quick to get the car.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear sierragoddess,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Ivy Minneapolis and thank you for your comments as well. I am happy that you enjoyed the tub, the bed and the valet service. I will be sure to share all of your comments with my entire team.

Best regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had booked a room for my brother and his girlfriend to have a romantic night out. I reached out to Jeri and she truly went above and beyond. My brother has nothing much amazing things to say about his upgraded room, his romantic amenities, and how pleasant the staff was - and how impressive his room was. Many thanks to Jeri for making this a memorable night for them!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Leon F,

Thank you for your comments on your brother's recent stay. I am so happy that he had a great stay and enjoyed our hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with Jeri and the entire team.

Best regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

From the time we drove up to the valet until the time the Valet gave us car, the stay was wonderful. It was clean, comfy, and inviting. The staff was wonderful and top shelf.
Awesome stay and way too short. Thank you to all the Hotel Ivy staff....

Room Tip: anywhere is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel ivy Minneapolis and thank you for taking the time to share your comments as well. I will be sure to pass them along to my team!

Best regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ivy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivy

Address: 201 South Eleventh Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ivy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Minneapolis, the skyway-connected Hotel Ivy hotel is conveniently located next to Orchestra Hall, the Nicollet Mall area and the Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Starwood, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ivy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ivy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.