We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable. Good service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ivy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ivy to your Saves list
Hotel Ivy
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 South Eleventh Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable. Good service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We enjoyed our 3 nights at the Hotel Ivy.
The SPA is nice. The whirlpool and sauna area is small, so when more then 4 people start to enter the public spa area, it gets uncomfortably tight. We didn't do any of the numerous services offered by the spa. The ROOM is cozy and comfortable. We loved the bathtub. We loved the bed. And, the room is very quiet. We never heard any noises from the hallway.
I realized after our first night, that the hotel is situated a few blocks from the main downtown area. It was a cold walk to get to the other pubs and restaurants in the downtown area. And, the light rail was too far to walk in the cold. The valet is excellent and I liked that we could take the car as needed. They were very quick to get the car.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    20
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
21
Solo
0
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had booked a room for my brother and his girlfriend to have a romantic night out. I reached out to Jeri and she truly went above and beyond. My brother has nothing much amazing things to say about his upgraded room, his romantic amenities, and how pleasant the staff was - and how impressive his room was. Many thanks to Jeri for making this a memorable night for them!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the time we drove up to the valet until the time the Valet gave us car, the stay was wonderful. It was clean, comfy, and inviting. The staff was wonderful and top shelf.
Awesome stay and way too short. Thank you to all the Hotel Ivy staff....

Room Tip: anywhere is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel ivy Minneapolis and thank you for taking the time to share your comments as well. I will be sure to pass them along to my team!

Best regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This property was selected because it was just about the only hotel listed with AMEX Centurion's Fine Hotels & Resorts program. We usually really like properties that are given this honor. Not this time. I will be asking AMEX Centurion to re-evaluate them. The location wasn't bad in terms of downtown accessibility but the "upgraded suite" was a joke: small, with views into parking garages out of every window. When we checked in, we were assured that we were getting a substantial upgrade over the suite that we reserved. It turned out to be exactly the level of room we had reserved except on the 5th floor rather than a nice higher floor. They straight-up lied to us at check-in and were unwilling ("unable") to change us to a nicer room. We tried each day to talk with the Concierge for recommendations and reservations. She was never once at her desk or otherwise available. The hotel was nearly empty. Maybe that's why they were charging $6 for 2 pieces of bacon (side) at breakfast. I do not recommend this property!

Room Tip: If you have no other choice but to stay here, try to get a room above the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My fiance and I stayed here 9/26 to 9/27. The hotel itself is very nice. Elegant. The staff is very friendly and helpful. My reason for the 3 stars is partly the location (if you're not staying here for business purposes this hotel is not for you!) and partly because of the bartender. The room was very nice, spacious, plenty of amenities. Heads up, you must pay for anything you take out of the mini bar. This may be par for the course (I dont think Ive ever stayed in a hotel in downtown minneapolis). Valet is $28 but you can take your car as you please. Cool feature. As far as the bartender goes, I had to tell him how to make a cape cod. A CAPE COD! Come on. seriously?

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear pawnit2002,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Ivy Minneapolis and thank you for your comments as well. I will be sure to share your compliments with my entire team and there will be training on the Cape Cod!

Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance in the future.

Best regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

hotel is a short walk to the bars/restaurants on nicolette. For those dining in, the Bitesquad delivery service is actually quite convenient for the area - if you don't want to patronize the hotel restaurant or walk outside (think minneapolis winter). The hotel is a bit further from the lightrail (which is the most convenient way to access the airport) than other hotel counterparts, which could get annoying if you are pulling luggage.

Hotel itself is nice, clean, quiet. rooms are spacious, and elegant. I did find it a bit difficult to find cabs around the hotel - they all seem to be congregating next to the hilton a few blocks down, but none of them seem willing to shuttle around town but are instead waiting for fares to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear HC_LA,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Ivy Minneapolis and thank you as well for the description of your stay. I will be sure to share your compliments with my team and I will also work with our valet team to be more proactive with the lack of taxi service.

Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance on a future visit.

Best regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We have stayed at several hotels in Minneapolis on business and this was by far the best experience we've ever had. We stayed 2 nights at the Ivy when attending a convention at the Minneapolis Convention Center which is just a block a way. The peaceful and elegant Ivy was a wonderful relief from the hustle and bustle of the convention.

The Ivy is also a couple of blocks from great shopping and dinning.

Our King room was large with plenty of space. Bathroom had a shower and separate tub. And the soft plush towels were OVERSIZED. Soft fluffy robes? Check! Slippers set next to your bed at turndown service with chocolate on your pillow? Check.

My only disappointment, the spa and fitness facilities could be better. They were not as sophisticated as the rest of the hotel, so maybe my expectations were higher.

Appetizers at the bar were delicious. Try the duck quesadilla. Great bartenders and service all around. When back in Minneapolis, we will always stay at the Ivy.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Kimberlie G,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Ivy Minneapolis and thank you for your accolades as well! I agree that we have a great location and I will be sure to pass along your compliments to my entire team.

Please let me know if you need assistance on a future visit.

Best regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ivy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivy

Address: 201 South Eleventh Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ivy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Minneapolis, the skyway-connected Hotel Ivy hotel is conveniently located next to Orchestra Hall, the Nicollet Mall area and the Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ivy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ivy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.