We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, location ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ivy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ivy to your Saves list
Hotel Ivy
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 South Eleventh Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
minneapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice property, location ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My fiance and I stayed here 9/26 to 9/27. The hotel itself is very nice. Elegant. The staff is very friendly and helpful. My reason for the 3 stars is partly the location (if you're not staying here for business purposes this hotel is not for you!) and partly because of the bartender. The room was very nice, spacious, plenty of amenities. Heads up, you must pay for anything you take out of the mini bar. This may be par for the course (I dont think Ive ever stayed in a hotel in downtown minneapolis). Valet is $28 but you can take your car as you please. Cool feature. As far as the bartender goes, I had to tell him how to make a cape cod. A CAPE COD! Come on. seriously?

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
17
Solo
0
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

hotel is a short walk to the bars/restaurants on nicolette. For those dining in, the Bitesquad delivery service is actually quite convenient for the area - if you don't want to patronize the hotel restaurant or walk outside (think minneapolis winter). The hotel is a bit further from the lightrail (which is the most convenient way to access the airport) than other hotel counterparts, which could get annoying if you are pulling luggage.

Hotel itself is nice, clean, quiet. rooms are spacious, and elegant. I did find it a bit difficult to find cabs around the hotel - they all seem to be congregating next to the hilton a few blocks down, but none of them seem willing to shuttle around town but are instead waiting for fares to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear HC_LA,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Ivy Minneapolis and thank you as well for the description of your stay. I will be sure to share your compliments with my team and I will also work with our valet team to be more proactive with the lack of taxi service.

Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance on a future visit.

Best regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed at several hotels in Minneapolis on business and this was by far the best experience we've ever had. We stayed 2 nights at the Ivy when attending a convention at the Minneapolis Convention Center which is just a block a way. The peaceful and elegant Ivy was a wonderful relief from the hustle and bustle of the convention.

The Ivy is also a couple of blocks from great shopping and dinning.

Our King room was large with plenty of space. Bathroom had a shower and separate tub. And the soft plush towels were OVERSIZED. Soft fluffy robes? Check! Slippers set next to your bed at turndown service with chocolate on your pillow? Check.

My only disappointment, the spa and fitness facilities could be better. They were not as sophisticated as the rest of the hotel, so maybe my expectations were higher.

Appetizers at the bar were delicious. Try the duck quesadilla. Great bartenders and service all around. When back in Minneapolis, we will always stay at the Ivy.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Kimberlie G,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Ivy Minneapolis and thank you for your accolades as well! I agree that we have a great location and I will be sure to pass along your compliments to my entire team.

Please let me know if you need assistance on a future visit.

Best regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel - location was perfect, the rooms as well as the bathrooms were large and spacious. The beds were amazing - comfortable and very clean. An overwhelming feeling of quiet sophistication upon arrival and this continues through to the guestrooms. The service is great, personable and everyone is keen to assist in providing information. Airport transfers are seemless and easy to arrange. The spa facilities would perhaps be my only disapointment. The carpet in locker rooms and some of the facilities in the spa need a little updating. I have stayed in several other hotels in Minneapolis but his one was a refreshing experience and is now my go to for SPG hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Travelholic A,

Thank you for recent stay at the Hotel Ivy Minneapolis and thank you for your kind comments. I will be sure to share them with my entire team. I will also share your comments with the spa management.

Please let me know if you ever need assistance with a future visit.

Best regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hotel. Extremely quiet! Nice amenities. A girls weekend getaway. Excellent location, close to everything. Wonderful beds and super nice linens. Couldn't ask for anything nicer. Staff was extremely helpful and polite.

Ian from Joel's Limousine Service (the hotel contracts with) was absolutely the BEST!!!! He was personable, fun, gave us great suggestions on locations and things to do. Dropped us off at our location and we just called him when we were done and off to our next spot. He made our evening fun, safe and super enjoyable! He took excellent care of three 50 year old woman who greatly appreciated his help!! :) Thanks so much Ian!!!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Dana C,

Thank you all for your recent stay at the Hotel Ivy Minneapolis and thank your for the accolades as well! I am happy that you had a great time for your weekend and that we could be part of it I will be sure to share your comments with my entire team.

Best regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I enjoyed a recent 3 night stay at The Ivy. I loved the spacious and quiet lobby with the welcoming staff. Despite being sold out that weekend, there never seemed to be anyone around, which provided a very peaceful atmosphere.
The rooms were very modern and comfortable. The only noise was from air flow when the air conditioning went on. This was easily silenced by lying a towel across the threshold of the doorway!
The location seemed perfect for us...close to Nicollet Mall restaurants. Easy road access to many freeways.
We had breakfast in the restaurant which had a dreary atmosphere and very poor service. The food was adequate. The coffee was awful. A second visit to the bar for happy hour was no better.
The spa, too was disappointing as described by previous reviews. Having had many massages in the past, I felt that this one was the worst. My therapist put very little effort into it. A nap would have been just as satisfying. Oh yes... all 4 therapists tried to upsell my family in the treatment room before the massages. Very tacky.
The staff seemed disorganized and did not seem to have a streamlined method of getting new clients settled when they first check in. I had to keep asking where everything was.
I'd happily stay here again but would avoid the weak links.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear vasmaven,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Ivy Minneapolis and think you for your comments as well. I do agree that we have a great location and close Nicollet Mall. I will be sure to share your comments with the spa management for procedural improvements.

Please let me know if can ever be of assistance with a future visit to Minneapolis.

Best regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location in Downtown, close to great restaurants/shopping. As an SPG Platinum member I was treated especially well and upgraded to a suit, free internet, free breakfast but as usual in the USA & Europe they do not have the complementary happy hour liquor and hot de vours. Hotel and rooms were extremely clean and with all SPG hotels the Select Comfort Beds are very comfortable. They have a great outdoor patio off the bar/restaurant on the ground floor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel ivy Minneapolis and your kind comments. Thank you as well for your loyalty to Starwood hotels as proven by your Platinum status! I will be sure to share your comments with my team.

Best regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ivy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivy

Address: 201 South Eleventh Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ivy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Minneapolis, the skyway-connected Hotel Ivy hotel is conveniently located next to Orchestra Hall, the Nicollet Mall area and the Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ivy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ivy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;