We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to move in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ivy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ivy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ivy
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 South Eleventh Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #32 of 48 hotels in Minneapolis
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wanted to move in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Decided to try this hotel for a quick business trip. Absolutely loved the room, lovely amenities and the bed was one of the most comfortable ever. The bath products were top notch and the robes etc. just great. I was so at home I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: We were near the elevator and it was extremely quiet so I don't know it there is a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
16
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a great experience at the Hotel Ivy. We came to Minneapolis for a quick trip to see a show at the Orpheum and were thrilled that we could walk to the theatre with a plethora of restaurant options on the way. The service was excellent. Parking was easy (if a little expensive) and the staff were great! We felt pampered in the hotel and had tons of options for fun in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis Maryland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Ivy is an elegant boutique hotel across the street from the Minneapolis convention center. The room was more modern than many of Starwood’s Luxury Collection properties. The front desk and house staff were very friendly and the evening turn down service (white chocolate pretzels and, even better, fresh ice) was vey nice. Two quibbles: the hotel has a complicated programable thermostats and I had to get help from housekeeping since a previous guest managed to set the room at a balmy 65. Finally, the restaurant staff at Porter & Frye is not particularly attentive--even when the restaurant was not busy. The food is, however, good. Even though a few blocks from the heart of downtown, I would definitely stay at the Ivy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Help! Nobody at the front desk has an explanation as to why the fitness center is closed! I have put on my workout clothes 4 times since checking in 2 days ago. First, it was closed due to carpet replacement in process. "Well be open tomorrow morning." Okay, I went the next morning; still not open; "The glue did not stick, but we'll be open when you get back from work this afternoon." Still not open with no explanation. Interesting, because you can see people working out from the street view on the 1st floor. What is going on? I went down to the fitness center this morning; still closed with no explanation. Oh, the woman at the front desk said I could go to the YMCA 3 blocks away and pay the cost out of pocket and the hotel would pay me back; nice solution! It is 8:21am Wednesday morning and the fitness center is still closed with no explanation. I paid top dollar to stay at a four star hotel with a fitness center and spa. I did not get the value I paid and the front desk needs training in communicating to the customer.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hubby and I were visiting Minneapolis to oversee repairs to property we own there. It was going to be a miserable exercise in patience so I booked our room at the Ivy expecting to need pampering after dealing with contractors. We reserved a junior suite.
We arrived late in the evening to find the room we reserved was not available and we were put in a double queen. I was too tired to argue but we were assured it would be fixed by morning.
We went downstairs for breakfast and our order was taken. Coffee came out quickly, thank God, but then our waitress disappeared. There were only four of us in the room and after 30 minutes we gave up and headed to the front desk. At this point we complained because now we had no time for breakfast and we still needed the room we booked. After taking my husband's number they promised a call back.
While we were on our property, we did get a call from the hotel manager. She was very kind and told us everything was being fixed. Hours later, exhausted and stressed out, we returned to the hotel and were greeted by the manager. After a short wait (and many drinks- long day! ) we were given new card keys to the Presidential Suite! If that wasn't enough, she arranged for a lovely bottle of wine to be sent up as well.
This room was wonderful, far more than I expected, and it made the few enjoyable hours of my visit that much better. What a wonderful gesture.
The only complaints I have is the food. We did get room service the next morning and it was delivered cold and greasy. I wish I could give a perfect score because of the excellent service but the food and food service was horrible enough to take away one star. Please fix this because I would love to stay here again next time I'm in town!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nicely decorated, clean, large rooms located in a convenient part of downtown. The bathroom too was large with nice walk in shower and large vanity. The gym is about as nice as you get for a hotel. You name it - they have it. All this and Starwood Points too - can't go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nicely furnished and the bed and pillows were so comfortable! We were amazed at how quiet it was; we could not hear any of the normal door-slamming and other noises. The staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear 533Mimi,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Ivy Minneapolis and thank you for the great comments as well. I am pleased that you liked the pillows and the quiet room. Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance on your next trip to Minneapolis.

Best regards,

Andrew Finsness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ivy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivy

Address: 201 South Eleventh Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#26 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ivy 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Minneapolis, the skyway-connected Hotel Ivy hotel is conveniently located next to Orchestra Hall, the Nicollet Mall area and the Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ivy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ivy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.