We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and confort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ivy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ivy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Ivy
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 South Eleventh Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #18 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Borgosesia
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Quality and confort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you will partecipate at congresses and events in Minneapolis this hotel is the right choise!
Connection to the convention center by skywalk...to avoid some crazy temperature Minneapolis showed up during the year!
Very nice support from the support for any request you ask,
Rooms always very clean but not so big as many other americans hotels:large enough if you travel alone. very nice internal SPA!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelIvyGM, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear ecobravo55,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at The Hotel Ivy. Our hotel provides guests with many amenities and I am glad to see you enjoyed many of them during your stay including our award-winning Ivy Spa. We look forward to your return very soon.

Best Regards,

Tom Hazay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    78
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
25
83
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We are long time Starwood travelers and stayed in May for five nights. This was our second visit. I was expecting good things because it is part of their luxury collection. It certainly didn't work that way. The toilet in our room was broken, so we asked them to fix it before we left for dinner. It still wasn't working when we returned at 10pm. Granted, they upgraded us to a larger room, but still, this is not what you would expect. The halls were not vacuumed the entire time we were there. The room service was mixed, at best. Next time we will stay at the Westin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelIvyGM, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Whetherperson,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and I apologize that our property fell short of your expectations during this visit. I have shared your comments with the team for immediate coaching and improvement. Please feel free to contact me directly should you like to discuss this further. We look forward to welcoming you again for an opportunity to redeem your current expectation.

Sincerely,
Tom Hazay
General Manager
tom.hazay@thehotelivy.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Better skip this hotel until they can find some housekeeping staff. I checked in yesterday. Normal check-in time is 3 PM. They kept me waiting until 4 PM because the room wasn't ready. This morning one of the housekeeping staff knocked on the door at 7:45 AM. She asked if I'd like the room made up now. This was way too early and so I asked her to do so later. Later was apparently interpreted as never. When I returned to the room at 5:30 PM it still hadn't been made up. I complained to the front desk, which eventually got results. No hotel I've ever stayed at, much less any with the pretensions of this one, has failed to make up the room at a reasonable hour. For whatever reason, the staff isn't up to the task of maintaining this hotel at this time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelIvyGM, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear SevenFours,

We place a lot of effort in providing our guests with a flawless experience while staying with us and we certainly did not live up to our standards. Thank you for taking the time to inform us about the service flaws you experienced with our housekeeping team. Your feedback has been shared with the respective staff as a reminder that we need to continually strive to provide prompt, and complete service with all requests. I hope that we will have the opportunity to win back your faith in our hotel with a future stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to book a return stay with us, I would love to personally oversee the details of your reservation.

Regards,

Tom Hazay
General Manager
tom.hazay@thehotelivy.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Check in was a breeze, and the rooms are great. From the upper floors the floor to ceiling window view of downtown and the skyline are quite a sight at night. The beds are very plush and comfortable, and the bathroom has ample room with a separate deep soaking tub as well as a shower of glass and stone. Although there are places closer to the 'mainstream' nightlife of downtown Minneapolis, it's only a short cab ride or a nice walk if the weather is nice to enjoy the sights. My only complaint was the extreme price of wireless service, aside from that, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Request an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis T, Director of Rooms at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Luke S,

Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Ivy and for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are thankful for your kind words about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again when your travels bring you back to Minneapolis.

Kindest Regards,
Travis Toliver, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Love this hotel - - very urban chic in downtown Minneapolis. Within a few blocks of many restaurants and bars. Cab ride (8-10 blocks) the the Theater District. Rooms are beautifully appointed - very warm and comfortable. Heavy, dark wood, high ceilings, great bathrooms and VERY comfortable beds...similar to Heavenly Beds!!

Spa is great - HUGE workout facility - - better than my gym! Restaurant is also great - - comfort food with a twist! Beautiful bar with very unique, delicious drink menu! Must see!

Room Tip: The hotel was built around the IVY Tower, which is on the historic registery. All of the suites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis T, Director of Rooms at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
jtb1970,

Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Ivy and we appreciate your kind words about your experience with us. We appreciate the review and hope you return to stay with us again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Travis Toliver, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Everyone that works at the Hotel Ivy, pays close attention to detail and has a great attitude. That is really all it takes to have a winning formula for success. It is really amazing to have the staff call you by name whenever they address you. We love this hotel and will stay here again. The room was very clean, great views and love the turn down service.

Notes: We paid for a junior suite and I do not think that is what we were given. It seemed like a basic room. We are Starwoods members and were supposed to get free drinks at the restaurant and that did not happen. The bartender at Porter and Fry, on Friday night has a poor attitude. If you do not like people, why be in the service industry?

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelIvyGM, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Mplsmichelle,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. I do apologize for the issues you experienced at Porter & Fry, and want you to know we are addressing your concerns with our staff.
Again, thank you for your comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.
We are hopeful of the chance to welcome you back to the Hotel Ivy in the future.

Regards,
Tom Hazay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying at the ivy for one night. The team of people who work there went out of their way to make me feel at home. The building is beautiful and there was great food and drinks. Will stay there every time I table to twin city

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelIvyGM, General Manager at Hotel Ivy, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Hotel Ivy during your visit to Minneapolis, MN. I am very pleased to learn that our team provided you with exceptional service throughout your stay and that you enjoyed the resort.
I hope I will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the best address in the near future!
Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ivy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivy

Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Minneapolis
Address: 201 South Eleventh Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#24 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ivy 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Minneapolis, the skyway-connected Hotel Ivy hotel is conveniently located next to Orchestra Hall, the Nicollet Mall area and the Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Ivy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ivy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.