We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ivy

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ivy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
LuxuryCollection Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ivy
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 South Eleventh Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #19 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
New York City, New York
1 review
“Fabulous Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I traveled to Minn from NYC for a work event that we were hosting in the City of Lakes. We treated our guests to spa services at the Ivy Spa Club and then retreated to the Grand Suite for more fun activities. The staff at the Spa and Hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful - planning a party from another state couldn't have been easier! Onsite, everyone was knowledgeable, friendly and extremely accomodating, The Spa was gorgeous & our guests raved about the services. The Grand Suite was huge - bigger than my entire NYC apartment! It was clean and quiet (no outside noises krept in). Since I was also staying at the hotel, I had the chance to check out the Gym. It was packed with equipment, machines, music & tvs - I couldn't ask for anything better. Overall, it was a fabulous experience. From the amazing staff to the beatiful space, I'd definitely go back again for work or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    78
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
25
84
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was a bit surprised by this hotel, as it is not quite a "luxury" hotel as Starwood classifies it. I got upgraded to a suite upon arrival, and my room was large but overlooked a parking garage and barely had any light. Also, the lay-out of the suite was a bit weird which included a living room with hardly any light in between the bathroom and bedroom that featured a large leather couch. The bathroom was large and comfortable. My bed was comfortable to sleep in.

The service was friendly, if a bit slow. They took a while to answer questions of what was near the hotel property, and the concierge sent me out to a restaurant and had marked the wrong cross-streets on the map, which sent me out of my way 5 blocks in 30 degree weather. Overall pretty average.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here for a nice little get away for my girlfriends birthday to site see and go to the Mall of America. I stay at many Starwood Properties, and this was by far the most impressive. I called to see if it was possible to check in early because the other hotel prior was not so good and we just wanted to leave there. I spoke with Sean at 10am and he said he would have someone get a room ready for us and we could eat brunch while they took care of us. The bellman were all very helpful. They upgraded us and made it their number one priority to take care of us. The restaurant's food was the best hotel breakfast we have ever had. Amazing. The room and view were no different. Every aspect of this property was beyond amazing and would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Hotel Ivy is a wonderful property. The expansive health facilities, luxurious rooms, and friendly staff make it a great place for the business or leisure traveler. It is also connected to much of downtown via the skyway. I would wholeheartedly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

True five star hotel.
Room was beautiful, all marble bathroom.
Received complimentary wifi.
Location is downtown although not as central as other properties.
You really can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed one night for work, wish I could've stayed longer! The room was great, loved the separate sunken tub. Bed was super comfortable. The staff was very helpful and polite. Wonderful fitness center and spa. Checked in early and while a room was understandably not available yet I was able to use the fitness center and spa. Conveniently located to the convention center via sky walk. A quick walk to Nicollet Mall. Had a good view from the floor to ceiling windows. The heavy doors were on the loud side when they closed but room kept out most noise. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINNIPEG
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We loved the classiness and location of the hotel as it allowed us to walk to all the great restaurants downtown, as well as the Metrodome. It was a perfect weekend in terms of location and service. All the staff members that we encountered were friendly and accomodating. We spent some time in the hotel bar and loved the different drinks that the bartender was able to create. We ordered room service one night and the food was quick and good. We also really enjoyed the fitness area. Great machines and a huge selection. The room was perfect and up-to-date. A lovely stand-up shower was perfect and the king bed was very comfortable. We had an awesome view of downtown.
The only downfall would be the noise in the hallway very early Sunday morning (2:00 a.m.) It was loud enough to wake us and keep us up. We could hear doors slamming and people talking very loudly. There also seemed to be some constructin going on in the room above us on the 3 days we were there. Hammering could be heard from about 9:30 a.m. until about 5:00 p.m. though it may have stopped when we were ut and about. They need to do some work on soundproofing.

Overall an excellent expereince and we hope to return.

Room Tip: As for a room on a high floor. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ivy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivy

Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Minneapolis
Address: 201 South Eleventh Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#19 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ivy 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Minneapolis, the skyway-connected Hotel Ivy hotel is conveniently located next to Orchestra Hall, the Nicollet Mall area and the Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Ivy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ivy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.